Trying to conceive with fibroids

Discussion in 'Fertility & Trying to Conceive' started by Bhanvi, Jul 15, 2008.

1. preethiprakash

preethiprakash New IL'ite

Re: Fibroids with enlarged Uterus

hello mythili,

I am preethiprakash from chennai.When i read through ,it was the same experiences i had and having.

Do not panic,fibroid is very common now a days like cold and fever due to our lifestyle,food patterns, pollution ,etc. Some times pregancy is possible with fibriod.( my aunty delivered two babies with fibroid.) Do u have pain during ur cycle.

Have a check up about ur fibroid,if its inside or outside the utreus, blocking the passage of follicle travel,etc.,

I under went a surgery 8 years back ,my daughter is 6 yrs. now as we planned for next i found its again grown.I decided no more surgery, so undergoing a treatment recommended by my friend , which heals fibroid and increses chance of pregancy.

So do not worry about it,go for a through checkup, then decided.

hope my words have been comfortable to u.

bye.

2. mimur9

mimur9 IL Hall of Fame

Hi Mythili,
    I have come across a lady long back, who had fibroid, underwent many surgeries for it. Got fed up & finally she opted for siddha treatment at the age of 40, conceived and given birth. Before surgeries, just consult the doctors on natural medicine. Its always good to avoid a surgery where a cure through medicine is there. All the best. Baby dust to you.

3. redgems

redgems New IL'ite

Re: Fibroids with enlarged Uterus - trying to conceive

Hi Mythili,

I too have fibroids that were diagnosed about a year back. Before rushing into surgery, you should definitely consider homeopathic/natural remedies. I went to a homeopathic doctor and he perscribed me a few different items based on my cycle, fibroids, etc. I'm happy to share the homeopathic medicines (their names) I was prescribed/got from the pharmacy but he also made some stuff for me.

In addition to meds, homeopathic doc's advice was stay away from chicken, not to eat sour foods, eat more goat.

In regards to the what the allopathic doctors say - yes, always surgery but they love this answer. I recently saw a doctor who specializes in fibroid removal - laproscopy - and is one of the best in the SE US. However, I recently went to a doctor who mentioned something better than a lap. There's some machine that's generally used in oncology but now is being used for fibroid removal as well - outpatient procedure, no downtime (no delay in ttc, you can start immediately after; in lap, you have to wait a few months), no risk of tube blockage due to surgery, no adhesion risk.

I'm contemplating using this procedure as I have one large fibroid. I have an appt on the 26th (can't remember the name of the machine, but will tell you once I find out!). Doc told me there are 28 hospitals in US that are using this technology for fibroid removal - sounds much safer than even a lap and way better.

You should def find out where the fibroid is (is it displacing the endometrium)? What size, multiple? Don't rush to surgery. No one knows what causes fibroids, they can and likely do come back but once your family is complete, it won't matter.

PREETIPRAKASH - can you explain the treatment you mention? I'm trying to find out what alternatives there are b/c even after fibroid removal, you have to be vigilant as they can reappear.

4. waiting4miracle

waiting4miracle New IL'ite

Mythili

Like the other posters said you need to know where your fibroid is located. I have a fibroid on my left fundus which is on the top of the uterus, so it does not effect the flow of follicles or the growth of the baby. I have the fibroid for the past 4 years. Had a laproscopy with the idea of removing it but once the doctor saw the location she did not touch it as removing it could have destroyed my left tube. I had an IUI after 2 years of my lapro and did conceive with the fibroid intact. There was no problem due to it even though I lost the baby in 6th months. So it is definitely possible to conceive with a fibroid but at the same time u need to be sure it is not inside the uterus. Because even if u get pregnant then that cud create problems with the growth of the baby.

About getting the surgery in India, its basically your call bec u may require help for about a week thereafter. In case u plan to get it done in India you may want to check out Dr Rakesh Sinha who is a specialist in removing cysts and fibroids laproscopically.

Take care
    W4M

5. redgems

redgems New IL'ite

Before you consider surgery (which is where I was about a week ago), look into this MRgFUS thing (I just found the name). Google it - it's relatively new but seems much safer.

6. MythiliMurali

MythiliMurali Bronze IL'ite

Hi Preethi,
    Thanks for your words. I was really panic at that time but after reading all the posts here I was releived a bit.
    I might be the top one among all ilites as I am the top two case for one of my doctors that I have visited. I don't have any symptons except severe menstrual pain in which the pain area gradually increased from lower abdomin to ribcage. I felt the tough mass but thougt it was fat.
    The good thing is all my fibroids are outside the uterus (3 subscerosal, 1 intramural).
    I am convinced to opt for Surgery as the natural remedies will take much time for the size I have. I have to take Lupron shots to get them shrink & surgery to be done. However in the mean while I would like to follow some effective natural ways as the whole process of shots-surgery is taking time.Can you please let me know what type of treatment are you taking.

7. MythiliMurali

Thanks for the information...
    When I googled I saw this/that/... may be helpful but never came across such a success story. I am happy to hear the news. I included my diet with more fruits, I reduced intake of non-veg & I avoided dairy products. When you get a chance to discuss this matter with her please ask & share the information regarding the diet/asanas that I can follow with out a GURU . That would be very helpful for me.

8. MythiliMurali

Hello
    Thanks for the information. I think we both are in the similar situation but I might be little advanced/final stage.
    I will ask my doctor about this new approach during my next visit.
    Your information is really helpful. I am eating chicken (but ofcourse limited), sour foods. Have to cut them. I avoided dairy, sugar. Please share the inforamtion what you have with you.

9. Chikkilu

Chikkilu New IL'ite

Hai aussie girl i knw this post is nearly 8 years old ...u had ur surgery n removed fibriod? I also had few fibriods which were removed throu lap in melbourne (sunshine hospital) still i have one fibriod located near the uterus wall ..doctor saying its no problem for me to conceive....i had two natural pregancies after 2 failed ivf which ended up in misscarriages ...now i have deceided to go fr ivf using donor eggs in india ...plz give me some feed up ..if anyone as the same journey
    Thnks guys