what are the methods to remove "nazar"

Discussion in 'Queries on Religion & Spirituality' started by Abha, Mar 8, 2007.

1. Abha

Abha Bronze IL'ite

Hi all

Sometimes, someone's praises are not in a good nature, like some people are jealous of your success, or beauty...

it happens to me very often, the day somebody tells me that i'm looking good, i have fever or something else, like stomach ache...

this is called "nazar lagna" in hindi, can somebody tell me a method for "nazar utaarna", which i can easily do... being here in US... as i cant lite a diya or anything which causes smoke...

can anybody explain a method to do this.

2. sunitha

sunitha Gold IL'ite

Dear Abha

This is what I do,mostly for my son.

I light a camphor tablet(which you can get in your Indian Grocery).I ask my son to stand facing east or west.I hold this lighted camphor( on a plate) and do 3 clockwise movements,3 anti-clockwise,1 up and down movement in front of him.Then I hold my finger(pointer or index finger I think it is called) over the black portion of the flame.The soot sticks to me finger.I put a tilak with this on my son's forehead and tummy.This is what my MIL used to do,so I follow the same.Then I ask him to move from that spot and go somewhere else.He should not see the light after that.I wet my hands with water and wipe his eyes with that water.That's all.I don't know the significance of all this ,I just follow my MIL blindly in this.:wink:

chanchitra likes this.
  3. Abha

Abha Bronze IL'ite

thanks so much sunitha, for ur advice

take care
    ~Abha

4. vivbass

vivbass Gold IL'ite

hello,(mainly elderely people will remove nazar for us)
    my mom will do like this,v'll sit in one place,then she'll keep salt & redchilli in her hand,then she'll round her 3 clockwise & 3 anticlockwise,then immediately v'll move from that place then she'll place the r.chilli & salt in fire...
    u won't believe it,it happened in our house,contil'y for 1 month in my family v all had some health problem,weekly once somebody have to go to DR,that much worst thing was happened,so my grandma bought a very solid white pumkin,she kept it in the night intheentrance of our house,the next day morning,from pumkin eyes tears like that some thing came contil'y for 1 hr,after 1 hr it fell with a huge sound & broken in to very small pieces,we all r worried for that....after 6 months,some fellow came to my house & told my mom that somebody has kept some yantra in my house,my mom & brother thought he is doing for money,he said iam not doing it for money,if u don't believe me,i'll take out from ur house ,no need to pay anything for me,he did some pooja,after 10mins he found out from our house,if it is outside means v can tell that i might have kept it in the garden int he night,but he took inside the house,my mom didn't allow him inside,my brother went & took it..
    really v all r upset after this 2 incidents....if god is with us,noone can do anything bad for us...
    don't worry everything will b alright...

hope i didn't scare u all............:-D

Last edited: Mar 9, 2007
  5. Abha

Abha Bronze IL'ite

No vivbass

u dint scare me at all, i know these things happen... and soemtimes these things have an opposite effect, the one who does something to you, the same thing will happen to him only instead...

see this is a fact the one who tries to dig a hole for other, will himself fall in it. so one should just think of god at all times, if he is with you, nobody can harm you.

when i was at my parents place one of our servants used to do this for me, as she was old and trusted one... she could even make out from ur face that, u had somebody's bad eyes on you today... as in somebody has wished bad for you, even after praising you... she used to take cotton and make two "battis", dip it in mustard oil and round it from my body 7 times and then burn those battis... and they used burn fiercly and fire used to drip from it as well... and then she used to extinguish those with my "chappal"...

i cant do all this staying here... so was thinking, find out a simpler way to do it..

6. geevee68

geevee68 Platinum IL'ite

You can also do "nazar utharna" with common rock salt.
    Take a palmful of salt, make the person face east,do 3 rotations both clockwise & antoclockwise & up,down.
    Take the salt & wask it off under the tap without looking at it.

7. Roopavrajan

Roopavrajan New IL'ite

you can Take a lemon and roll it around yourself or any other person who is affected with an evil eye and throw it out where nobody steps on it or you can cut the lemon so that other person should not get affected and dispose it puting it in a plastic cover.

Roopa

8. daffodil

daffodil Bronze IL'ite

Hi Abha,

I agree with geevee's method completely.

Me n my MIL too use fist full of rock salt (if not available ..table salt should do).. and move it in a circular fashion clockwise from head to toe 7 times.
    Later its washed off under running water, but of course you are not supposed to see the salt while its being washed away in the sink/basin.
    After that the water clinging to your palms is sprinkled on the person 7 times.

9. ALPA

ALPA Platinum IL'ite

i do the lemon thing and whenever i am going out or i know i am going to be comfortable with people i know who are doing black magic and we have to meet them socially, i put a lemon in my purse, it protects and i wear a taviz, normally i pin it inside my bra the tavis touches the skin and nobody can know that i am wearing one.

alpa:cheers

10. nirmusri

nirmusri Junior IL'ite

Dear all

thanks a lot, to make aware of the different methods to remove nazar. My amma from my childhood,she does holding lighted camphor( on a plate) and do 3 clockwise movements,3 anti-clockwise,1 up and down movement in front of me.

nirmu sri