Chennai moms - Activity centers - pls guide

Discussion in 'Schools/Playschools/Daycares' started by asha_karthik, Sep 16, 2008.

1. asha_karthik

asha_karthik Silver IL'ite

Hi moms
    I joined this forum today - looks very informative. All the more, I am happy to see so many chennaites in this group - it helps especially when our question is chennai-specific.
    My daughter is 2 years and 3 months old. She is attending a play group already, till she turns 3 after which I plan to put her in a cbse school closeby whereever she gets her admission. But here, the schools work only for about 3 hours per day. I have already started getting concerned that the rest of the day at home might not be very helpful for my kid. I go to work and my inlaws might not be concerned about her development and might not concentrate on her overall development - just would pass time by engaging her somehow. Is it a good idea to put her in some activity centers after school where she can spend her time - if yes, are there any such activity centers near thiruvanmiyur / adayar area in chennai? Else is it better to put her in schools that run till evening 3pm? If you recommend the latter option, do you know of any such schools/montessoris that runs for a longer time in a day? Pls help - i keep thinking about this only thru out - as it is, she is not very good at speech - but i see lot of spark in her - she picks up things fast - like started identifying alphabets in just couple of sittings, identifies colors when taught just once etc. i think i am only not letting her develop well - i hv no option but to go to work. pls guide me at the earliest possible opportunity on her school.

2. praveenavijay

praveenavijay Senior IL'ite

I am also in the same boat :). My kid is 18 months now and i am putting her in the toddler session. Most of the schools in chennai for pre-kg its till 12/ 1.00 only. You can put her in after school session, in adyar I think Parent choice is there. Many play school's have after school also.

3. asha_karthik

I checked parents choice. looks good, but pretty expensive. Is this the prevailing rate? any idea? Also, when they come out of a montessori school like this, say at around 6 years, and move to a normal school, which class will they be put in?

Also waiting for other's information on whether it is better to put her in a normal school and then in a activity center for the afternoons... or if it is better to put her in a full time montessori (like parents choice).

4. asha_karthik

Not getting many replies to my question..
    Anyways.. if any of your kids are studying in Bala vidya mandir, Shankara Cbse opp malar, Sishya or any other school in Adyar thiruvanmiyur area, pls reply back - i would like to know more about these schools...so... pls am so confused.
    :crazy

Also would like to know if the ABACUS Perungudi school has a branch in Adyar as well.. and if yes, where and how is it?

Last edited: Sep 19, 2008
  5. praveenavijay

praveenavijay Senior IL'ite

I think better to out ur kid in after school rather than full time school (8 to 6).
    About the school info i too have researched all the schools, the schools u have choosen are good. But getting admission in shishya is really hard. I enquired for my kid who is 18 months old, they said its too late. Mean while where do u stay.
    I have registered my kid in Abacus, Perungudi. But still in confusion to put here there, anyways getting admission there is also difficult. I liked Abacus but i have a confusion that it wont be better choice for the long run. Bala Vidya mandir and shankara are good schools if u r academic oriented. In Abacus children are more independent and getting into any professional courses like eng and medical are less. But the over all developement of the kid will be very good there. So only i am confused.

The other CBSE schools are very far for me since i am staying in Neelankarai. I dont prefer my kid to travel for long distance.

6. asha_karthik

thank you praveena for your reply and suggestions. i stay in tiruvanmiyur. but not planning to send my kid even farther than bala vidya mandir or shankara. i hv not registered anywhere. how much did u pay for abacus registration? now i hv more or less decided to move my kid to a good pre-school-only for now and in 2010 try in bala vidya mandir and shankara - is it difficult to get in these schools for LKG ( also i think there is no prekg in these schools - am i correct?)

7. tikka

tikka Gold IL'ite

Asha, I live in Kottivakkam and I am yet to take my toddler to any acitivity centre. You said you were in Thiruvanmiyur, right. What kind of activities are around here. I took him for weekly kindermusik kinda classes in Mylapore and they are coming to an end. Looking for more options elsewhere.
    Have you thought of Navadisha in Velachery. We went there for an orientation and for various reasons we have not gone through with joining there (including the fact that our child wont be toilet trained by October 2008, that's when they said they could take us.)
    What we were told is that school will take the child between 8 and 11 am for the first few months, moving to full-time as and when the child is ready to handle fulltime schooling till 3.00 I think. i am not sure if the working hours suit you. But I have heard only wonderful stuff about them.
    Navadisha is montessori, spilling over to ICSE and the child can continue in the same school after 6 years. Just dribbling this idea by you, if you have not already thought about it!

8. Lalitha venkate

Lalitha venkate Senior IL'ite

hi all

somebody could help me what is the right age for starting abacus training

9. Honeytha

Honeytha Senior IL'ite

Hai Tikka,

Can u please tell me, how was the Kindermusik Kinda classes for ur kid? I think u must have gone to Vanilla place for this purpose????
    How old is ur kid?

Thanks in advance.

10. tikka

tikka Gold IL'ite

Hi Anitha,
    yes it was at Vanilla Place. I like the philosophy of the place: help the child to develop by himself. The programme, rechristened Musical Beans (copyright issues, I guess), is going to start another three-month session from the Wednesday after next. The next sessions are going to be about the human body.
    They have hand puppets, books, musical instruments. The instructor is quite good with engaging children. She is,a little conventional for my taste (Good child/bad child kind of shaming tactics that WE feel strongly against, I know not many parents have a problem with it.)
    But it was not for Kiran, who was 18 months when we started. Your child needs to understand some English and we had taken the conscious decision to start talking to him in Tamil. Also, Kiran is a boy and likes doing boy things like climbing everywhere LOL. The girls in our group fared much better, so if your LO is a girl and less than 3, I would say go for it.
    Have fun.

KRITHIKA