Relationship Hijack And Banter

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by Rihana, Sep 17, 2018.

1. Amulet

Amulet IL Hall of Fame

It was a thread, now it is a rope, needing a rope size solution.

nakshatra1 and Laks09 like this.
  2. Amulet

Amulet IL Hall of Fame

:roflmao:
    There is a limit to how much goodwill (the accepted nomenclature for intangibles in the balance sheet) can be foisted on the self.... in this case, a privately held company of modest tangible assets. Non-profits can have a much higher ratio of intangibles:tangibles in their books.​

Last edited: Apr 2, 2019
    Amica likes this.
  3. Amulet

Amulet IL Hall of Fame

"On Acknowledgement" thread of @Rihana make me think of how Amreeki born desi children are raised like most other local middle class children in saying "Thank you". When a potluck auntiji gives a gift (a toffee, for example), the child would take it, and try to walk away.
    Mummy would stop the child and say:
    Mum: Now... now... what do you say to the nice auntiji ?
    Child: huh ?
    Mum: Come now... we know what to say to the aunty who gave the chocolate.
    Child: oh... thank you ?
    Mum: good girl... now give Auntiji a kiss.

[At this point the Amreeki child may curse her fate, and comply.... OR... do what the child in the video (below) does... and back away]

But still saying Thank You all the way..

Rihana and nakshatra1 like this.
  4. Amica

Amica IL Hall of Fame

Here's an example of balancing the books.

5. Amulet

Amulet IL Hall of Fame

That link is "cropped" to just display Lyndon Johnson's quote.​
    HERE is an uncropped link.

Last edited: Apr 8, 2019
  6. Amulet

Amulet IL Hall of Fame

The decluttering of life in the Marie Kondo Way involves holding the item in your hand, and asking yourself:
    Does it spark joy ?

Marie Kondo contemplating divorce:
    upload_2019-4-8_14-3-59.jpeg
    source: The Newyorker Magazine.

Laks09, Afresh and Sinant like this.
  7. Novalis

Novalis Gold IL'ite

The Amreeki child was cordially Americanized by e.e. cummings who also bowed with 'no thanks' to the publishers who rejected his poetry collection. Not despaired, he self-published his early anthology No Thanks (1935) and dignified the act by listing all the fourteen publishing houses who snubbed the miniaturized poetry. Understanding of cummings that such eccentric writing would baffle publishers, the gratitude was still retained.

The Amreeki kid, too, is mannered in unstinting acknowledgement that underpins our civility.

upload_2019-4-8_13-59-3.png

Amulet likes this.
  8. Novalis

Novalis Gold IL'ite

Moved to Nevermind chatter thread.

Amulet likes this.
  9. Rihana

Wow! 900+ friends and another 300+ personalities you evaluated ... :worship2:
    Once you have a FB account, there is never a 'nothing to worry' state.

Afresh likes this.
  10. Anusha2917

Anusha2917 IL Hall of Fame

:clap2::clap2::worship2: tussi great ho ! This exactly has been my fight in the 7 years of my marriage .

Giri12, Sunshine04, ano and 4 others like this.