Feel-good Bollywood Chick-flicks

Discussion in 'Movies' started by Needtobestrong, Dec 15, 2018.

1. Needtobestrong

Needtobestrong Platinum IL'ite

I recently watched few movies, I.e Veere di wedding , Jaane tu ha Jaane na , PadMan, Sonu Ke Titu Ke Sweety and Aisha recently, online or on dvd..not for the first time, of course.
    I randomly watched them based on online suggestions..
    I used to watch many Hindi movies earlier, but from past couple of years I've not watched that many of the latest Bollywood films..
    Such romantic and chick flick movies really are entertaining , and uplift my mood when I'm feeling low and make me feel young..( and remind me of college days when I would bunk class and go to theatre to watch latest movies with friends )
    Any suggestions for similar feel-good romantic and girl themed Bollywood chick flicks ? ( no movies with serious storylines please.. And I've already watched most of the ShahRukh movies so pls exclude them from the list).

Ranchu and Rihana like this.

2. Lalithambigai

Lalithambigai IL Hall of Fame

Bollywood chick flicks and without SRK would be a tough one, saying No to the top half of the list IMHO. Nevertheless, lemme give it a try, without SRK I would put Queen right at the top, did you see that one already? If not, that could be a good place to start followed by a close second for Bareily ki Barfi and then the rest like Kaho na Pyaar hai, Jab we met, Anjana Anjani etc.

If I wanted what you described here I would go back and watch the ones you excluded from the list one more time (with DDLJ at the very top and if there's something above the top even if I have seen them a zillion times already) because I know it will still be a better bet in delivering the goods than watching something else but that's me :facepalm:

SinghManisha and Needtobestrong like this.
  3. peartree

peartree Platinum IL'ite

Tumhari Sulu (not sure it qualifies as chick flick, but feel good for sure) is one I really liked!!

Needtobestrong likes this.
  4. armummy

armummy Platinum IL'ite

Kuch bheege Alfaaz ... little artsy but loved it

5. Rihana

Shaadi mein zaroor aana -- chick-flick with Rajkumar Rao. Deadly combination.

Once again (Hindi) -- is about mature love, finding love after children are grown-up, but nicely handled. I didn't find it serious.

Badhaai Ho -- not a romantic film, but a different topic lightly handled.

Blackmail - Irrfan Khan -- really good movie. The name might not indicate that, but good one.

Mitron -- remake of Pelli Choopullu. Cute movie.

Chick-flicks to avoid: Happy Bhag Jayegi, Love per square foot.

6. Sofea

Sofea IL Hall of Fame

All of Ayushmann Kurrana's films! They are not chick flicks but they certainly make you feel good at the end of the day. This is one actor who tells good messages in his films without being preachy or trying too hard. Loved all his films that I've watched thus far- right from Vicky Donor, Bewakoofiyaan, Dum Laga Ke Haisha, Bareilly Ki Barfi. Been hearing good stuff about Andhadhun and Badhaai Ho- can't wait to catch them.

Apart from that, I would also suggest Kapoor and Sons, Dil Dahdakne do, Piku...

Last edited: Dec 17, 2018
  7. Ranchu

Ranchu Local Champion Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

woof.. talk about chickflicks. After a stressful week I sat with Kabhi Kushi Kabhi Gham last weekend. It was sad with everyone crying on several scenes.

I usually go back to watching Dil to Paagal Hai for a fun stress buster. Old yes, but its feel good.

8. Needtobestrong

Already watched it...and liked it too..:)

9. Needtobestrong

Have been wanting to watch it for a while..was unable to watch in theatre..DVD doesn't seem to be available here..

10. Needtobestrong

Kabhi Khushi kabhi Gham and Dil To Pagal Hai..I've watched them soooo many times ..
    At some point of time during my childhood and teenage days, I could recite most of the dialogues by heart!