Mystic Music: Sufi, Bhakti, And Spiritual Folk

Discussion in 'Music and Dance' started by Gauri03, Dec 2, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Gauri03

Gauri03 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

This is a space for sharing and savoring music that can best be described as food for the soul -- songs from the Sufi, Bhakti, spiritual folk and related genres. Though these songs find their origins in a diverse set of religious traditions, they are woven together by the common thread of a secular and humanistic message at their core. This is easily one of my favorite styles of music and I find myself deeply moved by the poetry and philosophical depth of many of these compositions.

I will periodically post discussions on the musical traditions, philosophy and history of these mystical sects as an accompaniment to the songs. If you can, do try to include thoughts, anecdotes, translations, or anything else that enhances appreciation and enjoyment of this genre of music. The goal is to savor the message along with the music.

Last edited: Dec 2, 2018

2. Shanvy

so beautiful topic and something i love..

meri pehli peshkash..

yaar ko hamne ja ba ja dekha... (how beautifully described..)

Kahin Zaahir, kahi chupa dekha...

Rajijb and Gauri03 like this.
  3. Gauri03

The Qawwali is the most recognized Sufi musical style from the Indian subcontinent. Created by Amir Khusrau Dehalvi in the 13th century, it quickly became the most popular form of Sufi devotional music in the Indian subcontinent. More details when I introduce the poetry of Amir Khusrau.

For now close your eyes and enjoy Javed Ali and Kailash Kher bring to life this qawwali, Arziyaan by A. R. Rahman from the movie Delhi-6. It is one of the finest Sufi compositions ever to come out of Bollywood. Written by Prasoon Joshi, it is a melodious, hummable qawwali in Rahman's signature style.

blissfull, Rajijb, kaniths and 2 others like this.
  4. Shanvy

Arziyaan is such a beautiul one @Gauri03.. is it the lines by prasoon joshi, or the music by arr or the prayful voice...or should we say soulful kailash kher...and ofcourse javed ali

especially

Dararein dararein hai maathe pe maula
    maramat muqadar ke kar do maula, mere maula.

tutke bikarne..

you bow your head in prayer...apni arzi bhi qubool ho mere maula....now i am going to be on a loop..

Rajijb, kaniths and Gauri03 like this.
  5. Gauri03

Agreed! The words are sublime. I tried finding a half decent translation for the song but didn't find anything satisfactory. Tootke...is my favorite verse of the song. Might try my hand at the full translation when I have more time.

Tootke bikharna mujhko zaroor aata hai,
    par na ibadat wala shahoor aata hai,
    sajde mein rehne do, ab kahin na jaunga
    ab jo tumne thukraya to sanwar na paunga

Scattering into pieces, I know well enough
    but I do not know the etiquette of worship,
    let me stay bowed in prayer, I will not go anywhere now
    if you reject me now, there will be no redemption for me.

Rajijb, kaniths and Shanvy like this.
  6. Gauri03

Syed Abdullah Shah Qadri, known colloquially as Baba Bulleh Shah, was a late 17th century Sufi poet. His poetry is primarily in Punjabi and Sindhi though his verses are arguably the best known Sufi works across India, thanks to numerous adaptations in Sufi rock albums and Bollywood soundtracks. Bulla ki jana main kaun and Tere ishq nachaya karke thaiyya thaiyya are two of his most well known songs. The song Chhaiyya Chhaiyya from the 1998 movie Dil Se was based on Bulleh Shah's Kafi Thaiyya Thaiyya.

Here is Sufi Rock version of Bulla ki jana main kaun by Rabbi Shergill. Translation, with major tweaking by me, sourced from here.

Bulla ki jaana main kaun, Bulla ki jaana main kaun
    (Bulla! I know not who I am - 2)

Na main moman vich maseetan, Na main vich kufar dian reetan
    (I am not the believer in the mosque, nor am I in the rituals of the infidel)

Na main pakan vich paleetan, Na main andar ved kitaban
    (I am not the pure among the impure, nor am I inherent in the Vedas)

Na main rehnda bhaang sharaban, Na main rehnda mast kharaban
    (I am not in intoxicants (weed and alcohol), nor am I the lost or the corrupt)

Na main shadi na ghamnaki, Na main vich paleetan pakeen
    (I am not in a union (marriage) nor grief, nor am I intrinsic in the pure/impure)

Na main aabi na main khaki, Na main aatish na main paun
    (I am not of the water nor of the land; neither am I fire nor air)

Bulla ki jaana main kaun
    (Bulla! I know not what I am)

Na main Arabi na Lahori, Na main Hindi shehar Nagaori, Na Hindu na Turk Pashauri,
    (I am neither Arabic nor from Lahore; I am not from the Indian City of Nagaur; Neither a Hindu nor a Peshawari turk)

Na main bhed mazhab de paya, Na main aadam hawwa jaya, Na koi apna naam dharaya

(I didn't create the differences of faith; neither did I create Adam-Eve, nor did I adopt any label myself)

Avval aakhar aap nu jana, Na koi dooja hor pacchana, Mai ton na koi hor syana
    (Beginning or end I know just the self; I do not acknowledge duality; there’s none wiser than I)

Bulle shah kharha hai kaun, Bulla ki jaana main kaun
    (Bullashah, who is this man standing? Bulla! I know not who I am.)

Na main moosa na pharoah, Na main aatish na main paun, Na main rahnda vich Nadaun
    (I am not Moses nor a pharoah, neither fire nor wind, nor do I stay in Nadaun (city of innocents))

Bulle Shah kharha hai kaun, Bulla ki jaana main kaun, Bulla ki jaana main kaun
    (Bullashah, who is this man standing? Bulla! I know not who I am - 2)

7. Shanvy

now even the ones who love the rhythm and soothing music will go back and listen to the lyrics.. music with knowing meanings of lyrics is so much more..

do keep trying, it is done so apt..

Gauri03 likes this.
  8. Shanvy

hey @Gauri03 not fair,you tempt me to look up this thread again and again..

bulla ki jaana (so true who knows himself.. the whole journey of life is finding answer to ki janna main kaun)

Gauri03 likes this.
  9. Shanvy

if i am being asked to choose some of sufi inspired work by arr, this song will be in the list.. though arziyaan edges this one ..
    Rangreza.. (wow wow..)

Kun Faya kun kun faya kun..
    (he commands and gets what has to be done.. or should we say, he commands and gets it...)

blissfull, Rajijb and Gauri03 like this.
  10. Gauri03

Ha ha! I plan to post a couple of songs with translation every week. Hope to keep you hooked! :D Thanks for the lovely shares. All my favorites!