1. Interested in Natural Skin Care Solutions?: Check Here

Reliable Online Shopping Site For Indian Clothes

Discussion in 'Clothing & Apparels' started by troubledmom, Aug 19, 2018.

1. troubledmom

troubledmom Gold IL'ite

Or to ask the knowledgeable ones like you !

Me too like cotton more. Intrigued by all these names you are throwing around bomkai, ilkal etc. which thread did you all discuss these? Please let me know

Shanvy and Laks09 like this.
  2. Gauri03

Gauri03 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Oh not at all. I didn't think your comment was directed at me. Not just sarees, everything in India is eye-poppingly expensive, and what is most incredible is that there is pretty sizable population of Indians very comfortable paying those prices. I haven't seen as many LV, Gucci and Burberry bags in the US as I saw in the malls in India! It's no fun being the visiting NRI anymore. :lol:

3. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

A friend of mine is a huge fan of Parisera sarees and judging from her FB pics keeps them singlehandedly in business :smiley:. Kanakavalli has the loveliest Kanjeevarams I have ever seen. My interaction with them is limited to drooling over their website since I don't wear sarees more than once or twice a year, but I have been able to steer the Nalli loyalists in my family there and they have are firm fans now. And while Kanjeevarams are expensive a quality saree is timeless. Several of my mom's wedding sarees are still in wearable condition after several decades.
    That said, people in India don't bat an eyelid at dropping tens of thousands of rupees on a single saree. I remember my cousin's wedding several years ago. My uncle and aunt had to buy some wedding sarees for his bride as per custom. They took her shopping and asked her to pick what she liked. The young lady comes from a very well-to-do family and picked out two sarees for a total of 1 lakh. Several family members had to rush to Nalli upon an emergency summons from my aunt and cousin, to calm my uncle down and prevent a scene from ensuing :grimacing:.

4. Laks09

Laks09 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Meri bhai ki gaadi (Mera/Meri/Mera/Meri - Going with meri). Our eyes popped but he graciously let me drive :) What am I doing here @Gauri03? Main yaha pe kya kar rahi hoon..........

Gauri03 and Shanvy like this.
  5. Rakhii

Rakhii Moderator IL Hall of Fame

Something came up in my news feed and boy oh boy, silk saree prices did sore sky high.

What shop can i buy some good saree's for under Rs. 5,000? I need 6 saree's for people in India. Any suggestions ladies?

Kanakavalli is just WOW though, I cannot afford so much for 6 sarees each.

Laks09 likes this.
  6. Rakhii

Oh @Gauri03 these Kanakavalli sarees look amazing! Now i really need a flower to "should I, should I not". lol
    Really, I am truly amazed!

Laks09, troubledmom and Gauri03 like this.
  7. Shanvy

Go for good silk cotton sarees @Rakhii for that price silk cotton is beautiful..
    Palam Silks | Collections | Silk Cotton Sarees
    Silk will not be great ..you have to spend min 15k for a decent silk..

Check gocoop for silk likr maheswari, bomkai, sambalpuri or mangalgiri.. gocoop is good have bought from them before

shravs3, Laks09 and troubledmom like this.
  8. Shanvy

Sarangee, utpalakshi too..@rakhii lol do you have a garden..

Laks09 likes this.
  9. Shanvy

There was a thread on sarees of india.but thetr are more sarees that were no discussed.. the six yarda what do i say...my dd's friend's pay for saree tying if you should know and there are ladies who do it..and there are.professionals who have made saree draping into a art.

Laks09 and troubledmom like this.
  10. Rakhii

yes Shanvy, I will not buy silk; just a good saree. I will check out the link. thank you

Oh God...that kanakavalli online store though. I hope you all wont cost me $1000 today! lol

troubledmom likes this.