Ten Years From Now

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by messedup, Jun 9, 2018.

1. messedup

messedup Platinum IL'ite

Hello All!!!! Today I was just thinking that we all live our present life with a hope to achieve something or to be at some position. No one knows the future but still we feel that we should achieve this or we will definitely be there. Like I feel that I will be struggling with my kids studies and my career if started. What do you think about your life? Where you will be 10 years from now? And what plan do you have to achieve that goal?

nakshatra1, Alyssum and iyerviji like this.

2. iyerviji

I am not the right person to write here but I can write my experience I think.

From childhood I also wanted to do something in life and be at the top.

If I have achieved something in life means it us due to God and elder's blessings and best wishes from friend s.

When young we were not financially well . I studied up to 4th then for one year could not go to the school. One aunty was kind enough to admit me and my sister in a Convent school. I could pass in first class in 10th.

I had a best friend with whom I studied from 7th to 10th. She was rich but down to earth person .Because of her help I studied typewriting and got a job as a Typist in a firm in Hyderabad. I worked for two years and through my boss got a job in Mumbai immediately where we shifted. Through the recommendation of my boss I got promotion as a Steno though I had not given steni exam. I was surprised when I got a promotion as senior assistant through our Vice President though.i did not know accounting. I was given the job of Bank Reconciliation of the whole Company . From manual reconciliation I learnt through computer through company and did my job successful ly. I took VRS as our company was taken over by another company.

In my life there was someone to lift me up that's why I was successful in my job also God and Elder's blessings.

After marriage also I was a working woman and could manage job, home and children because of my husband's help.

Sorry for the long post , married life is different story.This August I will be completing 75yrs and I am happy I achieved something inlife

3. messedup

messedup Platinum IL'ite

Thanks mam for sharing your story. Your luck was there but you gave your hard work with full dedication that always kept you on right track and gave success. I feel lucky as I share my birth month as well as anniversary month with a person like you. I am also very hardworking but I leave everything after a certain point with the belief that I cannot do this. And nothing can change my mind after that. Can you guide me for this how can I keep myself motivated and keep going so that my hardwork can give some fruit too. At present I just leave everything before getting any fruitful output.

iyerviji likes this.
  4. messedup

messedup Platinum IL'ite

@sindmani and @senmalar thanks for the likes. Would like to read your reply too. Thanks.

5. Iravati

Iravati Platinum IL'ite

Ten years from now I would still continue to be the stinky kook I am today.

Forty years in the future, when I comfortably settle in an old age home, with the happy budda salon every Tuesday evening at 7 pm:

"Remember those days of 2018 with smartphones and Facebook and Netflix. How primitive! How did we even live those days with such garish technology and called it smart." I swipe my wrist and the communicator implant dials me to my nephew who waves at his prosthetic aunt (teeth, eye, heart, liver ...everything upgraded) while celebrating the grant of his red card in Mars.

Then I take charge of the happy budda salon and read out, today the book of the day is the yesteryear classic 'The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared'. Don't try this in your room even with your prosthetic knees with 4-year guarantee and 5-year insurance. All the mumbling happy buddas snore and fall asleep while reading the first page and wheeled back to their rooms. Forty-year into the future is fun and planned than a ten-year into future.

Last edited: Jun 12, 2018
  6. iyerviji

Thanks dear for your loving message. Glad to know your birth month is also sane as mine. My date is 19th August, what date is yours.

You should take it as a challenge then you will be able to do it . Aim high and don't leave till you finish it.

messedup likes this.
  7. Alyssum

Alyssum Platinum IL'ite

I am also think like this. But I didn't start anything. Now I want to take care of my kid. When my kid starts her school. I want to do work. This year I want to reduce my weight. That's my goal now. I don't know where I am after 10years and what I am going to achieve. Definitely I don't know but I have hope myself. I can achieve something (my goal).

messedup likes this.
  8. messedup

messedup Platinum IL'ite

ROFL....you are really great ira.... everyone look at you like wow what an intelligent girl and you looking at Buddha and salon. What a forecast...loved it...

9. messedup

messedup Platinum IL'ite

Yes you are right mam. I should leave this habit to achieve something in life. Will try my best...thanks for the reply....

10. messedup

messedup Platinum IL'ite

We ladies sacrifice ourselves for kids and keep our desires at back. But everyone start taking us for granted. That's the major drawback of all our sacrifices that become the major cause of frustration. Still we should hope for the best. Our day will also come. Thanks for the reply....

Giri12 and Alyssum like this.