Suman.

Discussion in 'Stories (Fiction)' started by PoojaShah, May 11, 2018.

1. PoojaShah

PoojaShah Gold IL'ite

Part 12

"Piyaa se milke aaye nain... piyaa se milke aaye nain, haaye mein kya karun..
    Aaye na mujhko ab to chain... aaye na mujhko ab to chain, haaye mein kya karun..."

Suman was listening to the radio. She kept looking at her mobile screen.

"Still no message from Sunny."Suman thought.

"Should I message him? Or should I wait for him to message? Why is it so difficult to wait? I cannot believe he hasn't messaged me yet. Maybe he is not interested. Maybe he was just being polite."

"Mein phir bhi tumko chaahungi,
    Mein phir bhi tumko chaahungi.."

"Is chaahat me mar jaaungi, mein phir bhi tumko chaahungi..."Suman started singing the song.

"No message from Suman. Should I message her or I will come across as too desperate? Let me just do it."Sunny thought.

"Hii, Suman. How are you today?"He typed but deleted it.

"That's so lame. I should say something nice to her. What should I say though? Oh! I'm hopeless as this."

"Maybe I can call her and tell her that she has lovely voice. But what if it's too soon?"

"Let me just say hello."

"Hello, Suman."Sunny messaged.

"Hii, Sunny."

"It was very nice of you to give me your mobile number."

Suman sent a smile emoji and messaged,

"Tell me about your likes and dislikes."

"Umm.. I like you."

Suman couldn't believe her eyes.

"Sunny finally said it. Should I tell him the same?"

"I like you too."Suman messaged.

"Thank you, Suman. You made my day..! Can I call you now?"

Instead of answering, Suman called him.

"Hii, sunny."

"Hii, Suman. I was dying to hear your lovely voice. I just love your voice."

"You too have pleasant voice, Sunny."

"Thank you, suman."

They had been talking for an hour when Meenaben called Suman for dinner."

"Sunny, I have to go now. Mom is calling."

"Okay, Suman but please come back soon. I'm waiting for you."

"Can I talk to you in the college tomorrow? I need to study after dinner."

"Please come to the college early tomorrow. I'll be waiting in the parking area for you."Sunny said.

Adharv, blissfull and VinuthaS like this.
  2. PoojaShah

PoojaShah Gold IL'ite

Part 13

Suman woke up around 7 in the morning. She promptly checked her mobile. But there was no message from Sunny. She went to take a bath disappointed.

She was getting ready when her mobile beeped. There was a message from Sunny.

"Good morning, Suman."

"Good morning, Sunny."She messaged back.

"Just want you to know that I missed you. Did you miss me?"

"Yes."Suman replied.

"That's so sweet of you, Suman. See you in the college."

"Okay...bye Sunny."

Suman reached the college and was looking for Sunny in the parking area.

"Hey, friends!! She's here."Sunny said.

Hearing Sunny's voice, Suman turned around. She saw a group of girls and boys with Sunny. They were all laughing.

"What is this, Sunny?"She asked.

"Oh! Suman. You're so naive.! It's just that I had made a bet that I could get a girl to fall for me in no time. And I won."

"Why..why did you do this to me?"

"Because I wanted to win the bet. When I saw you that day coming in the auto, I formed the whole plan in my mind. And you made it pretty easy. I must thank you."

Suman was both sad and angry at the same time. But sadness won finally and she started crying.

"Hey, Suman. It was nothing personal. I really think you have a beautiful hair. At least that wasn't a lie."

"Don't you ever talk to me."Suman said.

"C'mon, Suman. It was just a joke. Can't you take a joke?"

"It wasn't a joke for me. I really..."

"You really liked me?"Sunny finished for her.

"Well, I don't like you. I am sorry."

Suman ran away from there and came to the library. She was mad but she realized she was mad at herself rather than sunny.

"I cannot believe I fell for that. I'm so stupid. It was too good to be true. Maybe love is not for me after all. I will never fall in love again."Suman vowed.

She looked at her watch. It was quarter to 9. Her class would start in another 15 minutes. She didn't feel like attending the lectures that day. She thought of going home but realized her mom would ask questions. So reluctantly she went to her class.

"Hii, Suman."

"Hi, Ratna."

"I had started thinking that you too were going to give the college a miss today."

"Me too?"Suman asked.

"Yeah..Kavya is not coming today. She had called you too but you didn't answer your phone."

"Yeah..it was on the silent mode. I was in the library."Suman said.

Adharv, blissfull and VinuthaS like this.
  3. VinuthaS

VinuthaS Silver IL'ite

Going good ... but could not understand why Suman is so desperate.. looking forward for the next parts ... all the best

PoojaShah likes this.
  4. blissfull

blissfull Silver IL'ite

Ohh Poor Suman, Sunny played with her feelings.

PoojaShah likes this.
  5. Adharv

Adharv Gold IL'ite

Ouch...sad for Suman :anguished: fake sunny :boxing: how mean ppl are...but why suman this way?? Impact of are subject :confundio1: surroundings??? :confundio1::confundio1: Pooja ma'am hope you disclose the secret soon but it is very factual that there are people around us so mean without understanding the feelings of other and taking advantage of their innocence. Your putting it really well....Hope Suman finds her way and not to be so desperate and fickle minded.. really pity her :fearscream: Look forward for next update. Thank you and keep rocking.

PoojaShah likes this.
  6. Needtobestrong

Needtobestrong Platinum IL'ite

Unfortunately many people are immature and jobless enough to play such pranks and mess with others feelings..

PoojaShah likes this.
  7. PoojaShah

PoojaShah Gold IL'ite

8. PoojaShah

PoojaShah Gold IL'ite

Thank you so much.

9. PoojaShah

PoojaShah Gold IL'ite

Part 14(Last one)

"'The Merchant of Venice' is a 16th century play by William Shakespeare..."Prof. Nair was talking to the students.

Suman was fond of Shakespeare but that day she was not able to pay attention in the class. Try hard she might but the whole incident with Sunny kept playing in her mind. Tears ran down her cheeks.

"What is wrong, Suman? Why are you crying?"Ratna asked.

Suman wiped her tears and lied,"I have a really bad stomachache."

"Why don't you go home and rest?"

"I think I will."Suman replied.

"Why are you home early today, Suman?"Meenaben asked worried.

"Mom, my stomach is hurting badly. So I thought I would go home and rest."

"Okay, you rest. And if you don't feel better, we'll go the doctor's."

Suman came to her room and threw herself on the bed and had a good cry.

Crying made her feel a little better but the dull pain in her heart was still there. She felt she couldn't take it anymore and she went downstairs to her mom.

"Hii, mom."

"Hii, beta. What are you doing here? I thought you were resting."

Suman started crying again and then she told her mom everything that had happened during last few days.

Meenaben was shocked. Finally, she said,"Beta, attraction to the opposite sex is normal at your age. Consider this incident with Sunny a lesson, learn from it and move on. Now stop crying and give me a hug."

After talking to her mom, Suman felt better. She decided to give the whole thing no more thought and went to her room.

"Mausam pyaar ka rang badalta rahe,
    Yunhi chalta rahe... tere mere pyaar ka karvaan..."The song played on the radio.

It gave Suman a pang of sadness but then she remembered her mom's words. She smiled and listened to her favourite song.

10. PoojaShah

PoojaShah Gold IL'ite

Hii guys,
    So the question was why Suman was so desperate. I don't think of her character as a desperate one but rather naive ... a typical teenager who falls in love easily.. who wants to experience things all at once.
    Thank you all for reading and liking my story. Means a lot.

Last edited: May 22, 2018
    peddadas, VinuthaS and Adharv like this.