Eligible Bachelor

Discussion in 'Stories (Fiction)' started by muggs, Mar 15, 2018.

1. muggs

muggs Gold IL'ite

Hello Everyone... Here is my another story. Hope you all enjoy it and please write your feedback.

Chapter 1

Samyak is getting ready for his first interview. He has completed his MBA in Finance this year. He is quite nervous as this interview is very important and from one of the giant company. He wanted to get selected and start his career with a reputed company like this. He checked all his documents and kept it in his backpack. He adjusted his tie looking in the mirror and came out of the room.

“Mummy… I am ready.” Samyak called his mother who was in the kitchen and preparing breakfast.

She came out with a plate of a sandwich.

“Wow… My son is looking so handsome. Sit down and have something.” Anita kept the plate on the table.

Samyak smiled and started eating his breakfast. His father Vivek and younger brother Vedant also joined him.

“So Samyak, everything ready?” asked Vivek sipping his tea.

“Yes, Papa. I kept everything required.” he replied.

“Bhaiya, why are you looking nervous? Don’t worry, you will rock as always.” Vedant assured him.

“Thanks, Vedant. I will try my best. Ok, everyone, I will leave now. I have to catch the bus on time.” Samyak got up.

“Son… eat this. It is auspicious. And all the very best.” Anita fed her a spoon of curd.

“Thank you, Mummy.” Samyak touched her feet.

He touched Vivek’s feet and he also wished him good luck.

Vedant gave a hi-five to his brother and thumbs up.

Samyak felt good and determined after getting good wishes and blessings from his family and he started for the bus stop which is 2 mins walk from his house.

Anita and Vivek have faith in their son and they are very hopeful that he will definitely get this job. Samyak was always a good student but after completing his 12th, he became very sincere. He had decided that he has to work hard and do his MBA from ISB Hyderabad. His parents and Vedant used to live in Delhi, where his father was having a small business of Stocks and shares with one of his relatives. Vedant was doing his CA coaching there. After Samyak completed his MBA, they all decided to move to Hyderabad. Vedant can continue his Articleship and CA final preparation in Hyderabad itself and his father can do his work online as most of his work is on calls and computerized. They all can stay together in this way.

It is 5 in the evening. Vivek was pacing around the living room. Anita came out of her room and looked at him.

“What happened? Why are you walking back and forth?” She asked.

“I am waiting for Samyak. He should be back by now.” Replied Vivek looking at the clock.

“Don’t worry… He will come in sometime. You sit and I will get tea for us.” Anita headed towards the kitchen.

Around 6, the doorbell rang.

“It must be bhaiya.” Vedant ran towards the door as he was also just back from his office where he was doing articleship.

Samyak entered the house and everyone looked at him questioningly. He looked at everyone and smiled, “I got the job.”

Everyone got excited and happy. It was such a proud moment for his parents. Vedant hugged his brother and congratulate him. His parents gave him lots of blessings and thanked God for this wonderful news.

“I have to join from next Monday.” Samyak told them.

Anita got sweets from the kitchen and fed Samyak a piece. Samyak also took a piece and fed his mother. Vivek and Vedant also join the celebration and ate sweets. Samyak told his mother that we will all go out tonight for dinner and celebrate there.

It’s been ages for Samyak as he went out and party. He was so involved in his studies that he cut off himself from the rest of the world. He focused all his time and energy in getting the admission in ISB, then completing his MBA with good grades and then getting this job on the first go. Now all his hard work did wonders and he truly deserves this celebration. They all went to a Chinese restaurant as Chinese cuisine is Samyak’s favorite.

Bhoonzee, PLK, jainpromil and 9 others like this.

2. GeetaKashyap

GeetaKashyap IL Hall of Fame

3. Arunarc

Dear Muggs
    Very will written, I just love the way you narrate your stories.:thumbup:

muggs likes this.
  4. peddadas

peddadas Platinum IL'ite

Good narration!

muggs likes this.
  5. ratan

ratan Gold IL'ite

Well written. U always left ur previous chapter at turning point , that I curious for the next.:clap2::sconf::shakehead:

muggs likes this.
  6. muggs

muggs Gold IL'ite

7. muggs

muggs Gold IL'ite

Thanks a lot for your lovely comment.:)

8. muggs

muggs Gold IL'ite

Thank you so much @peddadas :)

9. muggs

muggs Gold IL'ite

Thanks for your feedback. Next chapter is coming soon :banana:

ratan likes this.
  10. muggs

muggs Gold IL'ite

Chapter 2

3 years have passed since Samyak started his career. He got promotion and Salary hikes. He is performing very well and efficient in his office. All his colleagues and managers appreciate his hard work. He has made a lot of good friends as well in the office. He has also joined his office’s soccer team and used to go for practice and matches every Sunday. He has also applied for Home Loan and started to look for a house. He wanted his parents to stay in their own house rather than a rented place. So all in all he is busy, responsible and focused towards his goals of life.

Meanwhile, Vedant’s articleship has also completed. But his final group of CA is still not completed. He has also joined an accountancy firm and started working while preparing for CA finals. Vivek is also now little relaxed as both sons are getting settled in their professional life. But Anita is now worried. She wants to start her search for a beautiful and perfect girl for Samyak. In her opinion, this is the right time for Samyak to get settled in his personal life as well. But she is worried that if Samyak doesn’t think this way. She has to convince him and for this, she decided to talk to Vivek regarding this.

“Listen na... I want to talk to you about something.” Anita told Vivek while sipping her morning tea. They are sitting on the dining table and both sons already left for the office. Vivek was engrossed in reading the newspaper.

“Hmm… Tell me.” Vivek replied still looking into the newspaper.

“Offoo… first, you keep this paper aside. I need to talk something really important.” Anita said irritatingly.

“Ok fine… Tell me what is so important?” he folded the newspaper and kept in on the table.

“Actually I am thinking, Samyak is progressing well in his career. So we should start looking for suitable matches for him. This is the right time for the marriage.” Anita said hesitatingly.

Vivek looked at her and started thinking. Then after few mins, he said, “Hmm… I think you are right. We should start looking for alliances. But before we start anything, we should talk to Samyak first. After all, this is going to be the most important decision of his life.”

“Yes, you are right. So let's talk to him and I am sure he will get agreed.” Anita replied happily.

Anita has a checklist of attributes in her mind for her would be daughter-in-law. She should be from a decent family, well educated, soft spoken, beautiful. She should handle all her responsibilities after coming to the house. All n all she should be bestowed with all the great qualities. She is excited to begin her search for an ideal girl for Samyak.

On Sunday, after Samyak came back from his soccer match, which he used to play with his office friends every weekend, all family members were sitting in the living room and watching TV. Anita gave hints to Vivek to start the conversation with Samyak. Vivek understood her intention and adjusted himself on the Sofa.

He cleared his throat and started, “Samyak, we want to talk to you about something.”

Samyak and Vedant looked towards his father. Samyak took the remote and switched off the TV.

“Yes Papa, tell me.” He started listening carefully.

“Actually I and your mother were discussing that now your career is at a good pace. You have got your promotion as well. You are settled in this city and have friends and social circle. We feel this is the time you should start thinking about marriage. Look, Son, I know its an important decision and we don’t want to enforce anything on you. So you take your time and give it a thought. We will start anything only after you are fine with it.”

Samyak felt little awkward as this kind of talk he is having for the first time with his parents.

“Look, Son, I know you are feeling little strange but we have to discuss it sometime and in our opinion, this is the correct time. In a marriage, it is very important that two persons adapt each other and their nature. This is the age where you easily mold yourself according to each other’s likes and dislikes. You easily welcome the differences and try to cherish that rather than feeling it as a burden. As you grow old, all these could be more difficult.” Anita also added her thoughts.

Samyak looked at his parents and understood that they are very much prepared and he could not escape easily. Now its time for him as well to think sincerely about it.

“I got your points but I need some time. Because, I never think about this until now.” Samyak nodded.

“Yes of course. Take your time and let us know.” Anita replied immediately as she is relieved that Samyak has not resisted and denied their decision.

“One more thing Samyak, if you already like someone, you can tell us. We can talk about it.” Vivek kept his hand on Samyak’s shoulder and smiled. Anita gave him a weird look for this thing.

“I don’t think this could be the case. Bhaiya hardly speaks with any girls.” Vedant jumped in between and started laughing.

Samyak gave him a stare and he controlled his laugh.

“No Papa, nothing like that.” He kept it short. Anita got relived after Samyak’s reply.

“Ok come, let's have dinner. I made kheer today.” Anita stood and started going towards the kitchen.

“Wow, Mummy… Kheer, but bhaiya has still not said Yes.” Vedant joked again looking at Samyak.

“He didn’t say no either.” Anita turned and replied. They all laughed.

Samyak can feel the happiness in his house. But he is now nervous. He has a lot of thinking to do. He actually never thought about this until now.

Samyak is lying on his bed and is staring at the ceiling. Hundreds of thoughts are running through his mind. How will I decide who will be the one? How would be my life after marriage? How would it be like to share everything with someone? What should I expect from my life partner? What would be her expectations from me? Am I actually ready for this? Am I ready to take responsibility of someone other than myself? Ohh God… this is so difficult. I feel like talking to someone who can answer all my questions. Samyak started thinking whom he can talk and discuss all this. Some of his friends have girlfriends but none of them are married yet. Others are still single like him. Suddenly a name “Aditya” popped up in his mind.

“Yes, Aditya Bhaiya… he can surely guide me.” Samyak murmured to himself.

Aditya is Samyak’s cousin. He is the son of Vivek’s elder sister. He lives in Delhi and he is got married two years back. Samyak heard his parents saying quite a few times that they are an ideal couple. He could not attend their marriage because of the work. When his parents were staying in Delhi, Samyak met Aditya frequently whenever he visited them. Samyak thought, he will be the right person and he can easily talk to Aditya about all this. Now he is feeling relieved and the marathon of thoughts are now getting slow. In few minutes he was fast asleep.

Thyagarajan, PLK, Rihana and 6 others like this.