Home May Be Small In Size But Vast In Heart

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by iyerviji, Feb 22, 2018.

In 2013 I had written a snippet on home and it was nominated by @viswa. I was so happy because of the nomination and because it was nominated by Viswa, who is a great writer but still he will say he learns from others.

Everybody knows how to build a beautiful house but only few know how to live in the beautiful house . Everyone has happy memories of their own house. Thats why aged people dont like to go abroad when their children go and like to stay in their own house. Our own house has gone for redevelopmentsince seven and half years but till now no action on that. We from that building all are waiting to go back to our sweet home. Wherever we go we would like to come back to our sweet home. House need not be big, our own house is also only one room, a kitchen and a balcony. We had converted the balcony to a kitchen and the kitchen to a bedroom as the balcony was disturbance for my children to study . Have happy memories of that house. Earlier to that we were in a chawl and got this house after my son was born. We had bought it on Pagdy, so have not spent much on that house. Now a days if we have to buy a house we need a crore. My younger daughter was born in that house. We have had many functions there .

For we ladies though we love ourmother's house after marriage our husband's house becomes our ownhouse . We ladies have to make the house memorable for everyone . Have memories of my children's school days in that house. Cant forget the day when I had hip bone fracture and had to be in bed for two months. The cot was my world that time . We didnot have mobile that time and could not talk on phone. Cot was in the front room facingthe door, so evening I used to spend my time seeing the people returning home. When we used to keep golu we used to keep there facing the door and keep the door open so that everyone can see . People used to get attracted with the lights and they used to see the golu while passing and we used to invite them for golu. Luckily we vacated the house when we came toknow regarding redevelopment after my children got married. Since the house was small when I got vrs from my office we bought a house for my son before his marriage , I gave half of the amount and the balance my son took loan from bank. After marriage he bought a bigger house. When we had to vacate my son and dil told us to come and stay with them but we did not want to disturb their privacy. So we shifted to a rented house. We had to shift four houses and luckily now we are staying in my younger daughter's house since she is in London. Now we feel at home and her house is spacious and well furnished.

Home is where we learn everything Our first experiences happens in our home. When the whole family is at home we enjoy being together, laughing and enjoying each moment. Relationships are built in the home . Till the daughters get married all our together. Once they get married then we feel something missing. But they have to go and wherever they go , even if they have a biggerhouse and all facilities better than their mother's house still they enjoy their mother's house and like to come and spend time and think of the olden times , their childhood days.

Home is not only making a place that is pleasant to the eye but also making a place that represents of who we are and what we love. Small in size, but vast in heart.

Home is the heart of life... Home is where we feel at ease, where we belong, where we can create surroundings that reflect our tastes and pleasures... Making a home is a form of creativity open to everyone." - Terence Conran

2. VaniVyas

VaniVyas Platinum IL'ite

Beautiful Mami.... Could imagine your house and surroundings thru your sweet words

Sandycandy and iyerviji like this.
  3. iyerviji

Thanks for the first feedback with your sweet message

4. paru123

paru123 Gold IL'ite

Some people have big houses but a very small heart to accommodate anyone for more than few hours. They like people to make casual visits but not stay for a night or so.

iyerviji likes this.
  5. Thyagarajan

:hello:Well said Madam Sister. You reminded me of my dad's saying while blessing genuflecting spouse and me at the time of ground breaking ceremony for my independent house " Chiruga Katti Pergua Vazh" (construct small house and live prosperously). yes East or west Home is best. you have brought out quintessence of living.
    Thank You.
    regards.
    Godess Devi Bless Us All always.

kaniths, iyerviji and sindmani like this.
  6. Sandycandy

Sandycandy IL Hall of Fame

Aww they truly say “ home isn’t where the heart is “

Well written aunty !

Thanks for all the likes.

@kaniths I know you are very busy but would like to have your valuable feedbacks for one of my thread. Thanks for the likes to my different threads

kaniths likes this.
  8. iyerviji

Very true dear. That too they will like only hifi people to visit and they will honour them. But there are people who have big house but a big heart too. I have some friends like that who respect my age and honour me and my husband . Last golu also one of my friend, who is facebook friend invited us for lunch during golu. She has a huge house with modern furnishing and she maintains the house well without a servant. She gave yummy lunch and a worthy gift too

paru123 likes this.
  9. iyerviji

Glad to know about your father's blessings. My daughter's father in law when she got married and came to her house , told her its in your hands to make this house a sweet home

10. iyerviji

Thanks dear