Khichdi & The Great Indian Politics

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by GeetaKashyap, Nov 24, 2017.

1. GeetaKashyap

GeetaKashyap IL Hall of Fame

Ever since Khichdi was declared as the Brand food of India, there have been many debates for and against this selection. But do you think just like that they would have decided on Khichdi for the coveted title? Whoever thought of nominating Khichdi for the coveted post knew what they were doing. They wanted a food item that would truly represent India and the Indian politics. You see it is very simple. I am sharing with you some of their logic to help demystify this selection.:thumbsup:

To start with we all know that rice and dal are the basics of the Indian staple food, at least in most places. (Many poor people don’t even have that to eat but we cannot stoop that low to start our assumptions, one of the selectors clarified.) Our selectors wanted a food item that incorporated these two items and that dish had to truly reflect the great Indian politics. Under this category, there were many nominees including Dosa, Idli and chakli as even they have rice and dal in them. Some serious thinking had to be done to ensure every criterion was satisfied. So these other contenders were pushed aside.:BangHead:

The latest Superstar, Khichdi probably originated in Bihar. Biharis have Khichdi with Laloo as an accompaniment, oops sorry, it is Aloo. Kya pharak padta hai?:lol:

Gujarat being a land of food lovers has many unimaginable varieties of Khichdis. Some of these are cooked by Rajasthanis too. Like the Gujrathi (bland) Khichdi, the mixed vegetable varieties like the Kathiawadi Khichdi, Ram Khichdi and Masala Khichdi, fadia ni Khichdi (Broken wheat Khichdi), Tarkari Khichdi (with vegetables and without the dal or lentil), Panchmel Khichdi (with 5 varieties of dals), Panch dan Khichdi( with 5 varieties of whole pulses), Protein Khichdi (with Paneer), Bajra-Moong dal Khichdi, Badshahi Khichdi (with curd and potato curry), Dahiwale Khichdi, Lilva Khichdi (with lilva ie., December bean. This is without any lentil, more like a pulav.), Makai ni Khichdi (with tender corn without rice or lentil) and many more. Some of the Gujarathi Khichdis even have peanuts! Some unconventional items here! They also use green and/or red chillies and a lot of spices too. Mitron most of these Khichdis are quite popular not only amongst Gujarathis but with other communities too.:thumbup:

Now did you notice, the Gujatathi connection to Khichdi and could this have influenced its elevation to the national level? Non- bhakts, sharpen your weapons and go on an anti- saffron blog frenzy!

Khichdis with millets were made in the ancient India but diet conscious people have introduced new varieties with unpalatable Quinoa. It is becoming too costly for the nation but some can’t seem to understand that there are better local alternatives. But they still want only the firang version! Got it?:nut:

There are versions of lapsi (broken wheat) Khichdi too; you know the compromised kind. People flocked this party as a new alternative but then all sorts of controversy about gluten et al struck, striking down many myths about it.:confundio1:

There is the Robust Punjabi Khichdi with spices, onions and tomatoes. Just like their peppy music their Khichdi is also peppy. Hey! How can we forget the Telugus? Even they cook their Khichdi in a similar manner and even their music is peppy! They keep everyone on their toes!:cheer:

Apart from these, there is a Marathi Khichdi made of Sago (Sabudana Khichdi) which stands out unrelated to the rest of the Khichdis. It has neither rice nor dal in it! It is popular with people who fast. It is straightforward but not quite there, something on a tangent.:confused:

What about the Khichdis with non-veg ingredients? Well, you see they are called the Khichda! There is this Hyderabadi Khichdi consumed with unedible chicken legs as a side dish. Many claim it to be a stooge of the neighbouring country. It makes a lot of meaningless noise. I can see many of you nodding and saying, “Oh! I see!”:tonguewink:

The small state Goa is famous for its Prawn Khichdi. (Sodyachi Khichdi)

In West Bengal, Khichdi becomes Khichuri! They like to twist things a little; they are different, a lot of individuality, you see!:rolleyes:

As we debate on Khichdi, there is a Tamil version Pongal, which is a Khichdi with a difference (Teda hai par hamara hai). Here the dal and rice are roasted before being cooked! (So much cruelty: roasting as well as cooking!)There are sweeter and spicier versions of it. In Karnataka it becomes Huggi. In TN, Karnataka, Andra Pradesh and Telangana, Khichdi is associated with the Harvest festival ‘Sankranti.’

There are many sweeter counterparts of Khichdi that are now entering the fray and are asking for reservation; Sweet Pongal, Akki-Bele Payasa (Rice and Bengal gram Payas/kheer) etc

Even as we talk of the main political contenders, we have not considered their step-siblings like the Bisibele bhaat which is slightly different with tamarind in it. This is quite laid back and it is not a serious player in the Indian politics, you know the on and off kind.:sleep:

The common man (dal-Chawal) is now wondering whether anyone would take a look at him. In this race for the name, fame and power, the humble ‘Dal-Chawal’, which gave birth to all these various dishes stands un-cared for and ignored. The common man voted and supported parties but today they are taking away the crown leaving nothing for the ordinary man and his dal-chawal!:coldsweat:

**END***

2. jayasala42

Dear Geeta,
    Well written.
    Very recently on Nov 7th we had a humorous article 'kitchadi confusion by our humour specialist Balajee who had given a thread bare analysis .I don't know whether you have read the same.

Jayasala 42

3. GeetaKashyap

@Jayasala 42

Thanks a lot for appreciating my work. Yes, I have read Balaji Sir's article.

4. Thyagarajan

:hello:Kichadi galore sumptuous yet long for further helping/filling. thanks and regards.

5. Cheeniya

Geeta
    You should be given a Ph.D in Kichdi. I never knew that it had such a national background! It looks like one of those unifying forces of the country besides currency notes! A very delicious post.
    My mom would always say that the longer it took to prepare a dish, the shorter is its consumption time! It applies to Kichdi admirably.

kkrish and sindmani like this.
  6. GeetaKashyap

@Thygarajan

Thank you so much for your visit and comments.

7. GeetaKashyap

@Cheeniya

Thanks for suggesting PhD for me in KhD :number_one:
    Your mom was absolutely right! Thanks for your visit and comments.

Frangipani likes this.
  8. HariLakhera

HariLakhera Platinum IL'ite

I was about to honor you with PhD in Khichdi but Cheeniya took the cake. Well how about Dlit. Superb. Must have spent a few hours with Google baba!!!!
    One thing is quite obvious. The Khichdi was given the honor because of the Khichadi politics we are facing these days. Gone are the days of single party rule. Ruling government have over 20 parties to have a mix of common agenda. The opposition is not far behind. This was the proper moment to honor Khichadi.

Frangipani and Thyagarajan like this.
  9. Jeeves

Jeeves Silver IL'ite

10. Jeeves

Jeeves Silver IL'ite

Great blog !!
    How can one forget the basic, " Dal Chaawal " Geetha ? The First ever solid food a baby has after 8 months !!
    Ah!! The Dhal, the home made ghee and a pinch of salt !! I am drooling after reading all your variations here !
    We must have a " Kichadi Festival " :cheer::cheer::cheer: