Looking For Easy Indian Meals That Can Be Prepared In College Dorm

Discussion in 'Recipe Central' started by abc00, Aug 13, 2017.

1. Rihana

My friend has a kid who goes to college just 1.5 hrs away. I asked why doesn't she give him some home-made food since they meet almost every other week. She says washing dishes in the dorm is a hassle. The common kitchen area is far away, and washing in the common bathroom's sink feels yucky (to the kid) plus there are strict rules on no food to be thrown in bathroom garbage to avoid ants and rats.

sindmani, Nonya, kkrish and 1 other person like this.
  2. kkrish

kkrish IL Hall of Fame

Ah, I never thought of it. Good point. When I recall my sons' dorms I can visualize this.

3. Shanvy

@abc00

i know as a mom you want to do everything that is possible for your kid to be comfortable.

i have a different pov. take a deep breath. take a step back. let your kid explore, analyse and come back to you with possibilities and requirements.

until then pack ready to eat snacls if you must.

kids in his uni will be more resourceful than you can think off and he will learn. so relax

jskls, MikaMaina, Gauri03 and 2 others like this.
  4. Rihana

Wise "back off" approach for the parent to adopt, but for kids who are vegetarian and/or grow up eating mostly Indian food at home, choices can be pretty limited in the already so-so dorm food. Add to that the humongous amount of study and work required, I don't know how much an 18-19 year old will look at possibilities. Eating out also gets repetitive after a while, and not all college campuses/towns have eating choices. The kids do their own laundry too. And are responsible for cleaning of their own room (not the toilet, but the rest like throwing out garbage and once in a while vacuuming).

Until the kid moves from dorm to apartment living, if there is a way to send food, and for kid to store it, heat it, and wash any dishes, worth it. I am thinking how I feel after 5 days of eating outside food on vacation, even in a cruise or resort. How badly I want Indian food, even start to long for my own homemade food (!) and how I used to search up Indian restaurant in the yellow pages. Used to search in the hotel room's desks for the thick directory (they had it in same draw as a bible), and then look for "Taj Mahal" or "Mughal.." in restaurant names as that was the only way to identify Indian restaurant. This was before yelp, before internet was so easily available.. I guess even before cell phones!

Sandycandy and justanothergirl like this.
  5. Shanvy

@Rihana walking the talk. ds washes his laundry by hand. a regular indian uni you see, no laundromats.:blush:. the food is bad and mine has spd and suffers more. the toilets are common and let us not venture there.:rage: forget all of this. drinking water:smash2: ( i know this will start a india/us ! debate )

and i have been in hostels for 8 yrs during my time of studying and working. it is part of growing up. at the end of sem i usedto travel 25hrs and the next 1 month oh god the simple rasam at home tasted nectar. learnt appreciating every blessing.

and i believe back off is the best way to allow your chld to explore his options and get back if he can use a instapot or a mw.

it is hard on us as parents but the more we pamper it is going to be hard for them to adjust. let them find the way to improvise, adapt is my pov.

let us agree to disagree:blush:.

jskls, Amica, MikaMaina and 4 others like this.
  6. Rihana

I get what you are saying, and believe in letting kids fend for themselves, become independent and learn. It is not about India vs US. Rather it is 25-30 years ago vs now. Spending time on studies vs cooking/laundry/finding alternates. We have had this same discussion with local parents. Very passionate discussions. : ) Often the dads are the "let the kid figure it out" and moms are keen to make it a little "easier" for the child.

Specific to the first 2-3 years of undergrad: Kids are super busy. Even the most organized and motivated ones never have enough time to do all that they can. Sleep is a precious commodity. Academic rigor, expectations and competition are intense. I would rather the kid spend less time and resources figuring out food alternatives. And, kid eating enough and regularly and eating healthy is important. Maggi/Ramen are the lore of college life, and sure they can eat those too. But, if there is a way of sending healthy food or paying for it to be delivered, why not. Esp. in colleges where food is extra horrible.

The independence and learning to fend for themselves and associated character building can come from other ways, and also at later times. I also feel a little responsible for the fact that the kids grow up eating mostly Indian food and then are thrown into an environment where the food is totally different. Not just watery daal, leathery roti, tasteless aalu subji, too spicy sambhar etc, but totally different fare.

This is the favorite argument we hear from some parents. "I used to...." "for life I stopped eating aalu gobi after eating it everyday in hostel ". : )

We travelled by train. I lived in a hostel where garbage used to be dumped in the hallways. Including used articles of feminine hygiene. Uncovered in any paper/plastic. We heated water in a bucket using a metal hanger. Bathrooms... I still shudder. : ) Our struggles and challenges were different. We only had to do well in the courses we were taking and keep a general eye out for internships, jobs. Contrast to now there is cut-throat competition to get to work with the good professors, choosing from the vast array of courses, and in some cases taking more courses to decide on a major or double major or minor. I would rather my child was spending hours in the lab or catching up on sleep/exercise or doing the courses to get a minor in a subject that interests her, than doing avoidable/outsourceable chores.

I used to think so too.. let the child tell you what she wants.. They will sometimes. But, children don't always have the dispensable time to do this research. They just don't. And, they are competing with kids whose parents do this instapot/mw kind of research.

My pov is a little different. Make sure the child knows how to do chores, how to eat when there are less choices, how to improvise, how to adjust, but don't require all that to be practiced in the first 2-3 years of undergrad if avoidable. In other words, and in more general terms, not all suffering is noble.

Along similar lines, I would prefer my kid complete college with some loans to pay off rather than work while studying. We can afford to pay the entire cost, but will take partial loans (for various reasons), that the child will pay off after college.

What does that mean? : ) I hope it doesn't mean I shouldn't respond. : ) Phir yeh chapter book ka kya hoga? : )

All said and done, my kids say, "homemade food belongs at home. if you send it to where we are, then, what is the joy in coming home to eat it". I have a feeling I don't want to dissect that too much. : )

Last edited: Aug 18, 2017
  7. Rihana

Curious.. why doing laundry himself? No reliable dhobi service? I thought there would be one since it is a good source of business for the washerman/woman.

Shanvy likes this.
  8. Nonya

Nonya Platinum IL'ite

I like this response.... it is like saying that you hadn't finished disagreeing to your heart's content yet. :)

9. Shanvy

@Rihana precisely for the very reason. i am all for constructive dissection er.. discussion but not digs..
    and in that case we can go for a book who dares to stop you?? Not me!!

arre i mentioned my 25 hrs travelling here just that i did it because i had to. if you were to ask both my children if mom says hum us zamane mein.. vaale stories they would say no. because honestly my kids cannot live my life, as nothing is the same as what it was 25yrs not even me as a person..

it was only a parallel about appreciation of homefood and i understand hostel food. and if it was something i should tell them about hostel food then, i should discuss the idlies that could break tube lights and rotis that gave a complex to leather lol.

i definitely understand the pressure of ug and the courses, as my 19yr young man is going through the same and has to try and cram in 25% more credits than his regular course which means additional add on courses, to have a chance in other universities he eyes and that keeps him tied up. uff the competition now let us not start on that at all.(just finished a round for a place in college)

there are no restaurants outside the campus and the small roadside eateries don't work for a pure vegetarian . and he has to walk or cycle 5km for cup of tea on somedays. so i understand all the logistics and the time consumed which could be used productively.

coming to dhobi, the concept of dhobi went away long back. we have only iron wala and drycleaners. and my son feels the one who has taken the contract does not do it clean and he is not happy giving it there hence hand wash like many of his hostelmates.

and even if he comes home with a load for wash he washes, and packs it himself. it is his responsibility. if i am travelling and he is alone he cleans after himself and cooks for himself. yeah sometimes it is disorganised mess and i do not mind that because he will get there.

i still believe that kids can adapt and try . why not now?? i don't think it as suffering at all neither my kids think so.. it is part of learning. so we disagree there!!

to each his own.whatever works for you.
    my style of parenting does not go well with my own close family so i don't expect all to agree.

book mein panne badhao!!!

Last edited: Aug 18, 2017
    Sandycandy and Rihana like this.
  10. grskkrish

grskkrish New IL'ite

U can try

noodles
    pulav
    upmas (poha,sooji,vermicelli)
    sandwich
    dhokla
    Oats