Very Indian Problems

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by blindpup10, Sep 16, 2016.

Tags:
  1. dimhere

dimhere Gold IL'ite

Very Indian problem

At any family(or non-family) gathering, kids being asked to do a "I've got talent" show.

Right from "Papa, thala enge?" (Kid, where is your head?) to a 6 mnth old, till full blown Alaapanai Kutcheris (classical concerts) requested from teenagers on the spot, and in the spotlight!!

Even when meeting brand new strangers... an instant performance! And unnecessary embarrassment on the parents faces if the said kid doesn't perform to aunty/uncle approved standards! Bah!

sindmani, Sunburst, Anisu and 6 others like this.
  2. Sparkle

Sparkle Platinum IL'ite

Crib about Indian traffic and break every possible traffic rule while in India.
    Same person when abroad will drive so well and follow every single traffic rule. Why? Why? :confused::confused:

3. MNR

MNR Gold IL'ite

Also, comparing kids to MIL's family. All good things(according to them) are inherited from their side. All naughty actions are inherited from DIL's side.

Like saying no one has a such big nose in MIL's side must be from DIL's side

sindmani, sumzaya, blindpup10 and 2 others like this.
  4. MNR

MNR Gold IL'ite

This is my MIL in our home

5. MNR

MNR Gold IL'ite

In family gatherings, talking and cribbing about politicians , govt officials like how corrupt and non punctual they are. But when they want to get any work done , do not hesitate to offer bribe

6. guesshoo

guesshoo IL Hall of Fame

Everytime my mum goes to the tailor, she would insist she needs the finished product a week before the actual day and say that's because she is "going out of station" the day after. Everytime. I know she's being cautious but I can't imagine the tailor believing the "out of station" story everytime especially when she'd be back at the tailors the next day in case something doesn't fit properly and be ready to collect it on 2 days! But she still says it and the tailor doesn't call her bluff.

kalcandu, sindmani, Sunburst and 10 others like this.
  7. guesshoo

guesshoo IL Hall of Fame

Walk into a small shop, to buy blouse piece/ shoes. Then when it's time to pay, bargain. Don't forget to use the line "we always buy from here. You should give us a discount." even if it's the first ever time you've gone there. Poor man will invariably give a small discount!

sindmani, Sunburst, sumzaya and 6 others like this.
  8. guesshoo

guesshoo IL Hall of Fame

Also go to Globus or Westside or fab india type shop and pay a bomb for stuff. Walk out to the roadside buy a pack of bindi and bargain - 5 rupees. Make it 3. Always makes me go :BangHead:

9. MNR

MNR Gold IL'ite

I do the same with my tailor

sindmani and guesshoo like this.
  10. Sparkle

Sparkle Platinum IL'ite

- When you get a 99 out of 100, more attention goes to the 1% thats missing.
    - Not being on time for meetings.
    - Get free advice if you have a dark complexion. Get more free advice to maintain a fair complexion.

sindmani, sumzaya, NeetaR and 2 others like this.