Kerala trip ideas needed !!!

Discussion in 'Trivandrum' started by AnithaPartha, May 18, 2015.

1. AnithaPartha

AnithaPartha IL Hall of Fame

We're planning for a Kerala trip this June. Is it a good month to visit Kerala? If it is drizzling we can enjoy but not heavy rains. Kindly suggest.

We're booking through cocokerala... is it good idea?

Cochin to Kumarakom to Allepey

Need suggestions

2. anika987

anika987 IL Hall of Fame

Must stay in houseboat...
    have a good massage ..
    thekkady and munaar are beautiful..
    koalas beach and Trivandrum museum..

Kerala is of course gods own country!

3. NimSuresh

NimSuresh Senior IL'ite

Hi anitha..

Monsoon starts on the 1st of june every year n its heavy downpour with thunder n lightning. .June is not a favourable period to visit Kerala. .

minn1 likes this.
  4. Rise

Rise Platinum IL'ite

Kerala is a beautiful place to be... alleppy backwaters, house boating, allepy beach, cohin marine drive.tvm museum .. make it before june.... alleppy, cochi roads gets flooded and u may have a bumpy ride

5. AnithaPartha

Thanks for your responses.

This is our plan:
    Day 1: Reach cochin (via train). Bus is avoided. Proceed to Kumarakom (How much distance between cochin to kum?). Stay in Kumarakom lake resort. Enjoy massage, pedal boat (complimentary)
    Day 2: Go to house boat (4 hours). Overnight stay in Allepey beach resort (as we ddin't prefer house boat stay). Is house boat travel safe during rainy season? Staying overnight is a safe option. Please share your views.
    Day 3- Back to cochin (Allepey to Cochin by car), shopping and return journey (train).

I heard it will be just drizzling in June month.. is it heavy downpour? How about June 12, 13 week?

Awaiting your response.

6. cherrybud

cherrybud Silver IL'ite

Kerala is one of the best places where you can plan your vacation. But visiting here during June is not a good idea though. The summer rain is causing havoc here since last week.

Being in Kerala, I suggest you to plan your vacation here after September (We are doing business in travel and tourism) the weather and season will be great then. The itinerary you have given is good. I think it would take around 3 hours to travel from Cochin to Kumarakom by car (based on traffic).

Normally there will be heavy down pour during the month of June in Kerala. If you must visit here in June please plan accordingly.

Hope it helps.

S.

7. AnithaPartha

Thanks Cherrybud.

Actually, we live in US and we came down to India for a vacation. I'm already in vacation period. We planned for Ooty but unfortunately the trains are fully booked and I don't want to take car to Ooty (personal problem). So, our next choice was Kerala.

I heard it will be just drizzling and not heavy all the days in June.. Is it so?

Instead of June 18, 19 we can prepone to 12 & 13 week...

Our package starts from Cochin and we'll be picked by them in car to Kumarakom. Then by boat to Allepey. Return trip that is Allepey to Cochin i'm not sure if it is going to be by boat or car. I'll have to check.

8. mimmyme

mimmyme Gold IL'ite

Hi Anitha,

Kerala is really God's country....beautiful all the time.

But if you want to enjoy winters are best time beacuse you can roam around and enjoy the nature.

Now rains will start and you wont really be outside enjoying natures in heavy rains...

9. cherrybud

cherrybud Silver IL'ite

Like Nimmy said, there will be no enjoyment possible in heavy rains since the monsoon will be too hard here in June and water related enjoyments will be very very limited unless luck favours you.

Most probably your return from Aleppy to Cochin will be by car coz package operators will normally plan like that.

If there is no rains you would have a wonderful time here. You have lots of places to see and enjoy. Please keep updated yourself with the weather conditions here to make yourself comfortable during the journey.

Have a nice time!!

S.

10. AnithaPartha

Hi Nimmy, Cherrybud,

I checked Kerala weather and it's showing thunderstorms on all the days so will it be like this even in June 2nd week too? When approximately heavy rains start? Will it be first drizzling all the day or heavy rains all the day in June?

I'm very disappointed as I can travel to Kerala only this June as I'm returning back to US in July :(