1. Want to be a Positive Parent? : Click Here

Toddler and preschooler foods

Discussion in 'Baby / Kids Foods' started by Ami, Dec 24, 2005.

1. Jigna4u

Jigna4u New IL'ite

Ingredients
    8 slices whole wheat bread
    ½ cup onions, sliced
    4 teaspoons low fat butter to cook
    For the sprouts
    1 cup mixed sprouts, boiled
    ½ cup potatoes, boiled and mashed
    ½ cup onions, finely chopped
    2 teaspoons ginger-garlic paste
    1 green chilli, finely chopped
    2 teaspoons pav bhaji masala
    2 teaspoons coriander-cumin seed (dhania-jeera) powder
    ¼ teaspoon turmeric powder (haldi)
    ½ teaspoon black salt (sanchal)
    1½ cups tomatoes, finely chopped
    2 teaspoons oil
    salt to taste
    For the sprouts
    Heat the oil in a non-stick pan, add the onions and sauté till the onions turn translucent.

Add the ginger-garlic paste, green chilli and sauté for another 1 minute.

Add the pav bhaji masala, coriander-cumin seed powder, turmeric powder, black salt, tomatoes and salt and cook for 5 minutes.

Add the sprouts and potatoes and mix well. Keep aside.

How to proceed
    Divide the sprouts mixture into 4 equal portions.

Place one portion on one slice of bread. Top with an onion slice and sandwich using another slice of bread.

Repeat with the remaining ingredients to make 3 more sandwiches.

Pre-heat the griller and grill the sandwiches, using a little low fat butter to cook.

Serve hot.

2. archana2008

archana2008 Gold IL'ite

oh wow wonderful thread. i have to learn lot, thank you mommies :thumbsupi added this thread in my favs, will start trying one by one.

3. esbanu

esbanu Gold IL'ite

wow....... What a lovely thread. Enaku oe
    re kavalai bcos my kid not to eat. I know lot by this thread. Daily updation iruntha romba nall irukum. So thanks to all.

4. Madhumidha

Madhumidha Gold IL'ite

Very useful thread.
    My kid wont eat properly. So, going to start this practices and tips for her healthy foods. Please keep on posting on this.
    Madhumidha

5. RamyaSridhar1978

RamyaSridhar1978 Gold IL'ite

Hi ladies
    I am a mother of twins who wereborn premature. Their milestones are near about that of normal baby. But the problem that bothers me is the kind of food they eat. I am so tensed reg that they are now 14 mnths old they also have got teeth. But they refuse to eat any coarse food insense even semi solids they immediate vomit after having few spoons.I amso tensed how to go about can it be that their throats are not developed.
    They are still in the mushy stage.
    Another thing is how to introduce dry fruits and fresh milk. ... My ped said don.t give fresh milk as the only source but u can add it in their food but I tried it with cornflakes,bread they refused to eat.....
    Please please guide me on this..
    Also what schedule to follow...
    My schedule is they get up at 9.30 .-at 11i give them breakfast
    Either it's ragi/dalia with dates/mash Getty@12.30 it's milk fm
    2.00 it's lunch rice with veggy and dal
    4 milk
    7 it's any fruit mash
    Milk at 8.30
    11its food any readymade cereal
    12 milk they off to sleep
    They dont sleep before 12 .tried so any times
    Please advice a schedule so as to introduce snacks too....

6. dhivyamani

dhivyamani Junior IL'ite

Hi my son also not like sweet.so plz tell some recipe. I have health mix. But he not drink. What to do???

7. Dinny

Dinny IL Hall of Fame

Please check your thread on the same topic,members have given some good recipes.