Age criteria for admission to LKG in Chennai Schools

Discussion in 'Schools/Playschools/Daycares' started by manjumnair, Feb 8, 2007.

1. manjumnair

manjumnair Silver IL'ite

Hello,

Can anyone tell me, what is the actual age criteria for admission to LKG in CBSE schools in Chennai ? My daughter's Date of Birth is May 4, 2004.

Since she will be 3 years only on May 4, 2007 and will be too young to go to LKG, I have not yet tried for admission to any schools. But now I heard from many people that the schools will not take children to LKG, if they are over age. My daughter will be 4 years in May 2008.

I kept quiet only because I read in some school websites about the age criteria as 3+ in December 2006.

Can any one clarify??? I am a bit confused and tensed because the admission to LKG for June 2007 session in most of the schools would have completed by this time.

Manju

2. Laxmi

Laxmi Administrator Staff Member Platinum IL'ite

Hello Manju
    Don't worry. Your are right. The age limit for the child seeking admission in most of the CBSE schools in Chennai is : 3 1/2 yrs. That is when the child starts her LKG in June he/she shlould be of the age 3 1/2 to 4 1/2. I will tell you from my experience as I got my child admitted this year.

Chinmaya (Anna Nagar) gives out application form only for the children who have completed 3 yrs as on 1/12/2006. I guess it wld hold true be it any branch of Chinmaya. So your child would be eligible only next year.

DAV ( Mogappair) gave application only for children who was born between dec 2002 to 1/12/2003. Here again your child wld be elligible only next year.

Only exception is that SBOA ( Anna Nagar) accepts children who have completed 3 years of age as on June 2007.
    My neighbour's kid's birth date is jan 2004 but she herself have deided to wait till next year for the LKG admissions.

True this year's admission process is over in most of the schools. But as your child is born in May 2004 she will be elligible only in the next year. All the Best. Hope the info was helpful.

3. manjumnair

manjumnair Silver IL'ite

Hello Laxmi,

Thank you very much for the information. I am very much relieved reading it. .

Since I have come to Chennai only last year I am not much familiar with the schools here. I did my college education here during 1997-2002, so I know some colleges in Chennai, but no idea about schools.

Do you have any idea about Vidya Mandir and Chettinad Vidyashram in Mylapore?? Is getting admission to these schools very difficult??

Thanks again for your kind reply..

:) Manju

4. Shanvy

I dont think the schools will not give admissions if the child is overage. it becomes a problem, only if you the child has some other problems, and you have a different reason for not admitting to school in 3+

My son was admitted at 4yrs 2 months into lkg.

IMO, it really works out good for the kid. my son is really outstanding at school.

Regarding vidya mandir and chettinad, yes it is a difficult to get admission into lkg. and there are people i know who had paid in lacs to get into cv.

5. ramyanand

ramyanand Gold IL'ite

UKG admission in chennai school

Hi ILS,
    I have a 4yr old boy..he finished his prekg in jawahar vidhyalaya,chennai..we mved to US and will go back to chennai in apr2008..When we met his principal b4 leaving for US sh etold me even if he comes back he has to join in LKG and not UKG:mad: since preschools here in USwill not be issuing TC.
    Has anybody faced a situation like this b4..Im thinking of trying in PSBB kknagar if jawhar says no..(our apt is at ashok nagar)
    What r the admission procedures in PSBB?When do they actaully start giving applns?
    awaiting all u'r replies
    Thanx n advance
    Ramya

6. srividhar

srividhar New IL'ite

Re: UKG admission in chennai school

HI Ramya,

We know each other before thro thozhi.Just thought would reply to u on this board.

As far as i know PSBB offers seats for kids only in Pre Kg and they give appl forms for arnd 3-4 days in the month of November and twil be displaed on thye school notice board.I myself being an ex student of PSBB, have come across hardly 3 ppl who have joined in the middle of the year and that is unless u have some v good recommendations.If you have some recos , then they would mostly consider you.My distant niece came back from US and they tried admission for her in lkg but they din giver her a seat and finally admitted her in chettinad vidhyashram .Anyways, this if from my experience.You could personally check with them or some one else too.

But then don worry,PSBB is not the only school in chennai whoch is good.There are lots of good schools in chennai these days.You could try in any DAV/chettinad vidhyasharm(which is really v good), and also SBOA's,Vidya mandir and PS senior, though i have no idea abt their admission procedures.

And there is one more school called PSBB Millenium school near that le royal meridien hotel in guindy GST road.This is also PSBB's venture.They have collabrated with a TRUST and formed 2 schools one at chennai and other one at Bangalore called PSBBLLA ,which is where my daughter goes.So u can try in that too, since its not far away from ur home.

HTH...any queries pls drop me a PM.

hope things are fine at ur end!!!enjoy ur stay!!!

Sri.

7. ramyanand

ramyanand Gold IL'ite

Yeah sri..where r u nowadays?Do post once in a while in our grp..Thanx for u'r info..
    chettinad vidyashram is very far form ou r apt..But i can try in other schools..
    We will probably go back to india at 2010..So have to try for second std admssn for Rishabh..

Hows padmasri?

8. av0608

av0608 New IL'ite

LKG admission in chennai school

Hi Friends, I am new to this website and i find it very informative. i am in US and planning to return to India for my sons education. we are planning to admit him in LKG. i have shortlisted few schools, which are, PSBB KK Nagar, DAV gopalapuram, SBOA and Chinmaya Vidyalaya. Need some feedback from you all.

1. when does PSBB, DAV, SBOA and chinmaya start giving application for LKG. i can plan my india trip based on the dates they give out application.

2. what is the age limit for LKG in these schools. i think different schools have different cut off dates. pl let me know.

3. what will be the possible questions in the interview and written test for LKG admission.

4. any idea about donation and recommendation?

Lakshmi

9. vidhss

vidhss New IL'ite

Hey! Ramya,

I found you here also :cool2:

Jus joined this site today.... Good One yaar... Howz Rishabh doing.. Howz Anand... A&A are fine here

Keep in touch

10. ramyanand

ramyanand Gold IL'ite

Hi vidhya
    Welcome to IL...
    Glad to meet u here...Anand & Rishabh r fine..TFA
    Hop on to blore board and im sure u'll find new friends here..

Cheres
    Ramya