Walkthrough - moving back to India from US

Discussion in 'Return to India' started by drb, Aug 14, 2011.

1. Sansub

Sansub Bronze IL'ite

Why would you need a dryer in India?????????When clothes can dry out in the sunlight within 2 to 3 hours?

2. srims

srims Bronze IL'ite

sansub,
    I agree with you, but getting the open place( to dry the clothes ) in most of our Indian houses is the only problem.That too in flats we won't get enough place to dry the clothes.Even if we get the place, in rainy season drying the clothes is a very big problem. If we have a dryer like the one we have here in US will solve this issue,right?

3. puni88

puni88 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Hi Priya,
    Could you please share info on these things:
    1. Which shipping company did you use?
    2. What was your container size ? 20 or 40 feet FCL?
    3. How much did you pay for shipping?
    4. Did you take insurance for it?
    5. Was there any missing items or damages?
    6. Did you take TV from here?

I have lots of question for you, rest will ask tomorrow.
    Right now I am in the process of doing research, want to shift everything from here :)

As you said, things are quite expensive in India and did research on each item, hence decided to take everything from here and also don't want to throw things here and buy them again in India.

4. priya8716

priya8716 Junior IL'ite

Hi Puni
    In reply to your questions:
    1. We used Universal Relocations. My friend had used Air7Seas and were quite happy too.
    2. 20ft FCL
    3. Approx $5000 (dont know the exact price as my husband handled all this)
    4. I think we took some basic insurance (like $250). It would cover the entire container, like in case the ship sinks or your entire container is missing. If you want to insure the goods inside the container, they allow that only if the shipping company does the packing as well. Makes sense right, they cannot pay for good damage incase the damage was a result of incorrect packing.
    5. Our goods arrived in perfect shape.
    6. No, we did not take the TV. People who already had big screen TVs took them. We did not have one, so purchasing a TV and a converter seemed too much of a hassle.

5. fencesitter

fencesitter Platinum IL'ite

are you a doctor?? doctors life is better in US, just my opinion.

6. kylie

kylie Gold IL'ite

dear Priya,

Its been a while since to returned to india from the States - how do u find it ? Have u been able to adjust after yr life in the US ? Also, many of u hv suggested that savings were not good in US - has that improved here ?

I think your feedback wud be able to guide those who want to return n also those like us who might hv to go on transfer. If there is not significant benefit, we might hv to rethink.

Thanks dear.

Kylie

7. puni88

Priya,
    Thanks for your reply :)

My brother-in-law family used VMB relocations and they took 40' FCL for $5000.
    When I read reviews about VMB, Universal Relocations, 7Seas etc... I read mixed reviews.
    I think it depends on your luck how things would work for you.
    We haven't spoken with any shipping companies yet, but I have shortlisted 2-3 companies.
    Will get quotes from them shortly.

Did you guys pack everything by yourselves?
    How long it took for shipping and arrival?

Right now I am stressed over TV purchase here, trying to do some shopping for TV.

It is quite stressful R2I, selling the house, jobs, kids school, packing, shipping etc.....

8. puni88

I hear vice versa case about savings.... many have complained that there is no much savings in India and they were better off in US.

9. priya8716

priya8716 Junior IL'ite

Savings depends on the person I think. So I dont know if India has any benefits over US. Anyway, savings was not a factor in our decision to R2I, so I did not think about it until I saw your post. If it is an important factor for you, then find out what your income will be and what your expense will be in India. Income is pretty easy to figure out. Of the expenses, house and school take the big chunk. When you come to india, visit a few properties to determine what would it cost to maintain the standard of living you want. On sites like commonfloor.com, magicbricks.com, 99acres .com, craigslist, you see a lot of brokers posting ads for properties to buy and rent. Spend a day to check out what you get for 2 crores versus 30 lakhs and see where your comfort level is. So, do some research on anything that you think might be a make-or-break point in r2i success :)

10. kylie

kylie Gold IL'ite

Thanks Priya n Puni for responding.

kylie