Home sweet home!

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by PushpavalliSrinivasan, Feb 17, 2012.

1. PushpavalliSrinivasan

PushpavalliSrinivasan IL Hall of Fame

Home sweet home!​

After being away from the home for about a week, I felt happy to step back into my house. We went to Hyderabad to attend the marriage of my sister-in-law’s grandson. Two days flew away in the marriage hall. Though sumptuous food was available without even lifting a finger, I could not relish the food. Chatting with s-i-l and other relatives and friends was more pleasurable than eating variety of food.

After the marriage function was over we left for our sister’s house who is also staying at Hyderabad. Both my s-i-l and my sister are good conversationalists. I am a patient listener. I spent nearly four days with my sister. She is staying with her eldest son and her other two sons also are in the same city. Hence one day we visited their houses also. All of them are very affectionate and tried to make us happy with their good hospitality and tried their level best to make our stay comfortable. Yet my mind was yearning to get back home :hide:as I missed my daily puja and my terrace garden. There was a nagging pain in my heart thinking about our puja Deities and I felt they also would feel my absence.

As soon as I stepped into the house I opened the balcony door to see the condition of the betel and Tulsi plant. Whenever we go out of station we will keep a wet sponge and a bottle with holes filled with water in the pots. I saw the plants a bit withered. Immediately I watered the plants and to my great relief the plants looked fresh after two hours. We engaged our apartment servant to water the plants at the terrace, yet I feel the plants also like the ones who nurture them lovingly like pets and miss them.

The next thing I did was to boil milk and offer it to the Deities after lighting the lamp.

Wherever we go we have to return home where our heart lies.

East or west home is the best!

2. iyerviji

Pushpa Mami good to know that you take care of the plants everyday and miss your home thinking of the dieties and the offerings to them. This shows your bhakthi. Home is always sweet, true its where our heart lies.

A house is built by human hands--
    But a home is built by human hearts.
    A House is made of brick and stone--
    a home is made of love alone.
    A house is made of walls and beams,
    but a home is built with hopes and dreams.

3. Srama

Very true PS mam! I can realte to the plants - I come back home from long India trips first to check on my plants, my back yard, my pond and then my fish and soon start weeding and cleaning so that we can enjoy the garden!

4. knbg

knbg Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Dear P.S ma'am,
    Best regards.
    Very true ma'am...:thumbsup.Plants are like pets too...and Pooja at one's home gives more contentment than doing it any where else....:thumbsup.
    MY DH's is a transferable job....so, whenever we move , some times we leave behind the plants, and I used to worry a lot........would call the friend to whom we gave the plants and enquire about them.....
    But, we never leave out pooja items and Swamy pictures and idols.....Some are from the first day of our married life, and I remember the prarthanas I used to do and all the boons given by them, all through these years.....We always carry them with us, in our hand baggage, so that we wouldn't part with them for long....

I used to crib sometimes, and we would go out for a short trip during long-weekends....

But, the sense of satisfactiona nd belonging when we come back home....is really very much...
    My DH would say, "Nizhaloda arumai veiyillla thaan theriyum"....meaning, we understand the value of shadeonly when we are out in the sun......I would reply, "Once in a while we need to go out in the sun to understand the value of shade".....:hide:
    A nice post to reflect upon ma'am....Thank you.....:)

5. PushpavalliSrinivasan

Dear Viji,
    Thank you for coming in promptly and posting your first fb.
    I like your aptly quoted sweet poem about home.
    Thank you!
    love,
    PS

6. PushpavalliSrinivasan

Dear Rama,
    Thanks for dropping in and posting your comments.
    Plants also need love and care as our children and pets. They give us joy in return with their colorful and scented flowers.
    Love.
    PS

7. PushpavalliSrinivasan

Dear Bhargavi,
    Thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts about plants and puja and for your appreciation. Witnessing our plants growing up and blooming with flowers gives us immense pleasure. Puja before our Deity at home chanting slokas with devotion brings positve vibrations and our mind experiences serene and bliss which cannot be described in words.
    PS