Info regarding legal check of the house

Discussion in 'Housing' started by karpagam1974, Feb 10, 2012.

1. karpagam1974

karpagam1974 New IL'ite

Hi Ms. Shanvy,

We plan to buy a flat in Chennai. The builder sent the legal documents to go forward with the construction. We live in USA. Is there a quicker way to check legally if there are any issues with the approval ?. We have relatives in Chennai but not in a status to help us with this matter. How do we check if the deeds are processed legally and are there any agencies that we can contact to check if everything is fine?

Please advise us on this matter and thanks a lot for your time!
    -Karpagam.

2. blackbeauty84

blackbeauty84 IL Hall of Fame

Generally contact a lawyer who can do the quick verification. Wherever you are you can scan, courier the documents to the lawyer.
    Also if you are applying for a bank loan in India, some banks ask you to contact a lawyer whom they have tie up with. So check out with the bank asking whether they can refer any lawyer for document verification.

Good Luck.

3. Shanvy

Karpagam,

I am from a old school of thought. if i can spend 50lacs/1crore for a flat i should not mind spending 50k to come and check all the legalities in person..(again this is just my point of view), if you do not have somebody who will do all the leg work for you.

I always suggest going for a personal legal opinion even if the bank goes for one.

in your case, if you cannot make it by yourself, find out if there are anybody else who has booked in the same complex, ask them if they have gone for one, if need be you can share the cost of legal opinion too..you can contact a legal lawyer, send a copy of the papers to them, and get teh details..you can find out about a lawyer from your own friend's circle..

i think there are a few new firms that are coming up with the property management and related details..but i do not know any personally.