Change of Mind

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by satchitananda, Dec 17, 2011.

1. satchitananda

[JUSTIFY]:eek The rasam is very spicy today. The vegetable is very hot too. You have outdone yourself today. I need some yogurt to eat this.

I see the steam coming out of BH's ears, nose [​IMG]...... His eyes are watering and his face is a vivid shade of crimson.

I taste the vegetable and rasam. OK, it is on the spicier side, but does not warrant any of the dramatics that I am treated to.

Next day the chillies are reduced by half. Dinner time sees another drama. The food is too bland today. Now BH does not like to eat pickles (salt is on the list of no-nos). So I have to endure this cribbing through dinner time. :bang

My mind travels back to 15 years ago. I come from a family where chillies are meticulously avoided. Dad who could eat anything without flinching a muscle would start hiccupping if there was a chilli in the next room. That was the only time when he would ask Mom if she had emptied all the chillies from the market into the dish. I on the contrary was very attached to my pickles (to the extent that the pickle jar would be clutched tightly in my arms when I went to sleep - could not allow anyone else to get at them, could I??? OK, OK, just kidding. But that was only to make a point). One of the favourite sports of my sister, mom and dad at meal times was to ignore their plates, stare at mine :rant and keep telling me how my stomach would part company with me one of these days. I would be asked if I ate pickle with rice or vice versa.

When I got married, I spent a few years in mil's house. I quite liked her food, except for the fact that I could not quite do justice to it. Much as I liked spicy food, I would be putting on the act BH now treats me to - red face, fuming nostrils ..... I took over the kitchen and started toning down the spice drastically. The food was relished nonetheless with occasional comments about how "kozhandai udardu muttam pole irrukku" (meaning it is as gentle as the kiss of a baby :kiss. What on earth were they complaining about? I can't think of any bliss greater than that)!!!!!

Back to today - same BH who wanted really spicy stuff earlier, is unable to stand it anymore.

Way back, when we were just married, I would be treated to endless comments about my short hair and how I should grow them out - I on the other hand was fed up of long hair and did not want to think "long" for the rest of my life. Last week, I was headed to the hair dressers. Having grown bored of seeing the same face peering back at me from the mirror for the last so many years, I was reflecting on whether I should grow out the hair a bit. A call to BH to get some help with this very difficult life and death matter left me with my jaw dropping. He says "cut them. It will be more convenient for you" [​IMG]. Am I hallucinating, am I hearing right? Anyway, I am not complaining. At least the onus of a major life-threatening decision has been temporarily lifted from my shoulders.

A couple of Sundays ago - we are preparing to go for a wedding reception. No great fancier of saris (except admiring them on others), I have got myself a couple of good dresses to wear for the occasion. Still at the last moment, doubts assail me about whether I would look presentable or not. So I ask BH whether I should wear a saree or a dress. (I must have fallen upon hard times when a quick decision maker like me consults someone who takes 5 years to decide whether to take a day off or not). "Wear a dress. It will be easier for you to manage", comes the prompt reply :drowning. Such a prompt decision from one who used to keep asking me why I did not wear sarees? I wonder if it is time to [​IMG]? Is the doctor ill? Or am I ill? Or maybe both of us are.

Seriously, I thought changing one's mind is a woman's prerogative. No book ever told me that in this era of equality of the sexes, men have earned the right to do so too. Or is it Nature's way of making sure that the battle of the sexes never comes to an end? :coffee This puts what I heard about husband and wife looking like each other after a few years of marriage in a totally different light. They don't look or think like each other as in sharing a point of view. It is just that husband starts looking and thinking like the wife and vice versa. They change over to the opposite sides of the table. Period.

There seems to be an immutable law that both BHs are required to have conflicting, vacillating opinions on every matter, so as to give the old man (or is it woman) upstairs a chance to :rotfl continuously. Maybe laughter being the best medicine, He/She has decided to have a megabig dose of it through the ages, so that He/She is in the best of health and cheer. Maybe that is His/Her secret of such a loooooooooooooooooooooong life!!!!![/JUSTIFY]

P.S. For those who don't remember the earlier explanation and in reply to Kamalji's fb, I thought I would just clarify:

BH under normal circumstances could be taken to mean Better Half or Bitter Half depending on context and could apply equally to husband or wife.

When used by the wife, it could also mean Beloved Husband or Bekaar Husband or Bhondoo Husband depending on the context.

This gives a certain amount of welcome flexibility to the term which I personally prefer over DH.

18 people like this.

2. Kamalji

Dear Satchi,

BH is it a mistake should be DH, that is dear husband, what is BH, beer husband ? Confused u see.

So u get good marks everywhere, aqnd pickles tickle yr palate eh ! HAHA. Well i too love pickles, and when i ask for them ( the mixed pickles of Nirlons are the only ones i like ), then everyone assumes the food is no good.

and i can eat pickles and chappatis, along with raw onions and radish/muli, and still enjoy a veg lunch, with a papad to go, and better still tea after that. Dont think i am crazy, HAHA

Well we do keep changing our tastes and outlook as we go along and let me tell u, i have seen couples begining to look like brothers and sisters after a long marriage, in my case, hasha is looking like my daughter these days.

HAHA

Good one , enjoyed it thoroughly, got a hair cut, and this post went right thru my head well, see less hair , so less obstrucitons. G ood u too got short hair, HAHA

3. kkrish

kkrish IL Hall of Fame

Good morning Sats Dear.
    Looks like whatever we want to do the world ,a.k.a. BH, (You see I come from the school that declares husband is the world for you:hide: :biglaugh:biglaugh) says the opposite, isn't it?

Here is Sats changing her mind wanting to grow long hair and wearing the sari again but no BH has changed his mind.

The problem with food is eternal Sats. If I put less salt my BH adds more and if I add the "right" amount he declares it is too salty.

A very hilarious post Sats, on Saturday morning! Enjoyed it!

4. iyerviji

Sats dear good post. Since I spent my teenage days in Hyderabad I like spicy food very much. Your post brought me memories of the days we used to have paruppu podi with Avakkai. My mouth is watering thinking of that only. But after marriage since my dh does not like much spicy I compensate it with having pickle right from sambar rice to dahi rice. He needs more salt. Earlier I used to get fed up of all thorans, beans thoran, cabbage thoran etc where only coconut and chilli is added. But now my dh eats little spicy but most not be too spicy. I usually like fried vegetables which is spicy.

5. Mindian

My dear sats,

Very simple. The poor guy has just given up on you.:hide:

Just kidding, He is is not bothered about such trivia anymore..

Long or short, Saree or a dress. ?Kya farak padtha Hai?He is on a much higher plane when nothing matters except your convenience.

And here you crib at that to?

Woman, there's no pleasing youtsktsk

6. mansimahi

mansimahi Gold IL'ite

hahaha satzi.... and they say, oh woman, contrary is thy name !!! shakeheadshakehead !!! When it comes to contrariness and dithering minds...men take the crown.

Even my dh/bh is the same.... I do something because he would have said something about how much he liked it...and when i wait excitedly for words of appreciation and declarations of love....he would look at me questioningly "whatever gave you the idea that i liked it!!!":rant:bonk. Now, I ask him what he wanted and DO what I like ...he doesnt realise it anyway hahahah...:rotfl

7. Chitvish

Sats, a piece of advice from a veteran :)
    Do what pleases you, not necessarily the text book way, but what you think is right. If HE declares that he does not like it, smile back pleasantly, nodding your head. Just tell yourself, that your being happy with yourself is more important and the result will reflect in his having a happy spouse and harmony at home.
    Take all trivial decisions yourself, but not major decisions - then if something goes wrong, you can,t pass on the buck to him.
    Keep that option always favourably open from your end.:)

8. satchitananda

Thanks so much for the very quick first reply. :)

9. satchitananda

Hi Kamala,

So nice to see your quick response.

10. satchitananda

Vijima, it is nice to know that you too like spices. I remember Mama's and BH's expression when both of us kept going at the pickles. :-D Paruppu podi and Avakkai. What a wonderful combination. Add beans poriyal or raita to it, and it is a delectable meal.