Thirukarthigai - Why & How do we celebrate Karthigai Deepam

Discussion in 'Festivals, Functions & Rituals' started by yarsinirpd, Dec 5, 2011.

1. yarsinirpd

yarsinirpd Junior IL'ite

Thirukarthigai - Recipes - Why & How do we celebrate Karthigai Deepam

[​IMG] Thirukarthigai/Karthigai Deepam comes on the tamil month Karthigai on Pournami day(Full moon day). Throughout the month lamps are lit in the front of the house in the evening . On the Thirukarthigai/Karthigai Deepam day the whole house is decorated with the oil lamps. Thiruvannamalai is famous for Thirukarthigai/Karthigai Deepam. This year, Thiru Karthigai falls on 8th Dec 2011.

Story behind Karthigai
    Once Brahma and Vishnu due to the ego started arguing with each other " who is the greatest". Both claimed to be the greatest, instead of doing their duty. At that time the God Shiva appeared in the form of fire and told them whoever finds the top or bottom of the fire is the greatest. Brahma took the form of Annam (a bird) and tried to find the top of the frle pillar. Vishnu took the form of Varaha( giant pig) and tried to see the bottom of the pillar. As the God has no limit in his size or power, both of them could not see either top or bottom of the fire. When their ego went down and they prayed the God, He appeared before them. The day in which the God appeared as a pillar of fire is Thirukarthigai/Karthigai Deepam.

Lord Shiva appeared as a hill (Arunachala Hill) at Tiruvannamalai in Tamil Nadu. Indeed, the very names `Tiruvannamalai' and `Arunachala' translate as `holy fire hill.' The Shivalinga in the temple here is the agni linga. The tiny lamps lit during the Karthigai festival (Karthigai Deepam) are believed to be the miniature replicas of the fire linga. Every year thousands of devotees from Chennai and elsewhere flock to Tiruvannamalai to see the spectacular Karthigai Deepam there.
    This vradha indicates the non measurable infiniteness of the God and shows that the God is the light that will drive away our ignorance. Lamps are lit in the houses to pray His "Jyothi Swarupam".

First day of this festival is called as "Appakarthigai" and the second day is called as "vadai karthigai". All devotees will offer pori,adhirasam,vella Seedai, vetrilai pakku,fruits as neivedhyam for God Shiva.

In down South of Tamilnadu and in Kerala, Hindus will pray god for goodness of their brothers and they will light a elephant lamp(Gajalakshmi Vilaku) which marks as a sign of prosperity and wealth. The story behind lighting elephant lamp(Gajalakshmi Vilaku) is given below.

Why we light Elephant lamp on Karthigai ?
    Once upon a time there lived a King and he had only one daughter. She loved an elephant which grew with her and she considered the elephant as her own brother. After her marriage she missed her brother elephant very much. So for every Thirukarthigai/Karthigai deepam occasion, she will light elephant lamp(Gajalakshmi vilaku) and she will prepare tender coconut, elephant leg size milagu Milagu Adai, Pori,Adhirasam,Vella Seedai and keep them as neivedhyam for this festival.

So we on this auspicious occassion all devotees should chant the following lines

கீட: பதங்கா மசகாஸ்ச வ்ருதா
    ஜலே ஸ்த்யேயே விசரந்தி ஜீவா
    தருஷ்டவா ப்ரதீபம் ந ச ஜன்ம பாகிந:
    பவந்தி நித்யம் சவ பசா ஹி விப்ரா ​
    and also

Yaanai Vaazha
    Arasan Vaazha
    Penn Vaazha
    Piranthagam Vaazha
    and put one piece of pori in the lamp and perform the pooja along with neivedhyam.

Dear IL Friends,

Hope most of them celebrate this.. please share ur celebrations & views & receips too..

Happy to inform that my LO was born on Thirukarthigai day last year.. :)

2. sowbhagya

sowbhagya New IL'ite

re: Thirukarthigai - Why & How do we celebrate Karthigai Deepam

Thanks for the Info

3. Special

Special Silver IL'ite

Wow...knew much of karthigai deepam today only...thanks for sharing ...

4. vdeepab4u

vdeepab4u Gold IL'ite

Wow.. thanks for the information yarsini.. though i too was born on karthigai deepam (thats y my name is kept as deepa) i dont know the exact story why it is celebrated. that was really a good piece of information.. advances b'day wishes to your cute kid.

Can you please elaborate on the pooja's to be made for the sake of brothers ?

5. yarsinirpd

yarsinirpd Junior IL'ite

[​IMG] கார்த்திகையன்று வீட்டிலோ அல்லது கோயில்களிலோ திருவிளக்கு பூஜை நடத்தினால், லட்சுமி கடாட்சம் நிலைத்திருக்கும். எல்லா இடங்களிலும் இருக்கும் இறைவனை நம் இல்லத்திலோ, ஊரிலோ எழுந்தருளச் செய்வதே விளக்கு வழிபாடு. ஆதியில் வேதரிஷிகள் ஹோமம் செய்து இறைவனை வழிபட்டனர். அப்போது, யாக குண்டங்களில் அக்னி எரியும். இதுவே எளிமையாக்கப் பட்டு தீப வழிபாடாக மாறியது. விளக்கு வழிபாடு சுற்றுப்புற இருளை அகற்றுவதோடு, மனதின் இருளையும் அகற்றுகிறது. பூஜையறையில் வெள்ளிக்கிழமைகளில் வாசலில் மாக்கோலம் இட்டு, அதன் மத்தியில் விளக்கை ஏற்றிவைத்து, அதனை வீட்டு பூஜையறைக்குள் கொண்டு வந்து வைத்தால் விளக்குடன் மகாலட்சுமியும் இல்லத்திற்குள் வருவாள் என்பது ஐதீகம்.

Courtesy: Dinamalar - Varamalar

6. yarsinirpd

yarsinirpd Junior IL'ite

Sorry dear i dont knw much info regarding this.. if i come across any soon i'l update it..

7. naliniravi

naliniravi Gold IL'ite

Thank you for the information. Today being karthigai deepam, it is very nice to come across this thread. tku once again.

nalini

8. Ami

Ami Silver IL'ite

LOrd Murugan was taken by Karthigai pengal and we are celebrating his birthday on this day(is that a diff., story) or that is krithigai natshathiram alone??

9. yarsinirpd

yarsinirpd Junior IL'ite

Hai Ami,

Lord Murugan was in 6 forms, he was grown by karthigai pengal, on this day godess parvathi made 6 forms into 1 single Lord Murugan.. :)

10. yarsinirpd

yarsinirpd Junior IL'ite

Hai Nalini,

Thank you.. :)