It's almost the end of the year, what have you accomplished this year? - Dec 2011

Discussion in 'Topic of the Month - Contest' started by IL_Admin, Dec 1, 2011.

1. IL_Admin

IL_Admin Administrator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Dear IL-ites,

Hardly 30 days left in 2011. Year 2011 is on its way out! It was a year with great ups and downs for all of us. Each year starts with great expectations and hopes of huge expectations.

The contest for the month of December 2011 is

What have you accomplished this year?

So, for this month’s Topic of The Month Contest, tell us, what you have accomplished in the year 2011. Tell us, why is that special or important to you and what have you learned from this experience? The best answer will receive a beautiful gift from Indusladies.

Points to note:

• An IL-ite can post only 1 entry.
    • Entries should be posted only in this thread for it to qualify for the contest.
    • Your entry should not exceed more than 250 words.
    • Best entry will be selected by the panel of Judges.
    • Entries posted in this thread during the contest period - Dec - 1st to Dec - 25th will only be considered for the contest.

2. IL_Admin

IL_Admin Administrator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Dear IL-ites,

Here is the non-competing entry on behalf of Induslady ! Let me list what IL has accomplished this year:

• Achieved 100,000 Member community milestone and gave away Laptop to Preethi - Laptop Contest Winner is Here!
    • Gave away – Rs. 10,000 cash prize for ‘thebloggergirls’ for winning IndusLadies 2nd International Women's Day Blog Contest.
    • Launched ingenious content section.
    • Launched brand new homepage.
    • Gave a fresh new look and upgraded the forum.
    • Made private message system FREE again!
    • Introduced new features like Social Feeds, Bouquets etc..
    With all your blessings and support, we will accomplish many more in the coming years !!

15 people like this.
  3. Ramavyasarajan

Ramavyasarajan Silver IL'ite

Dear Ilites,
    *Started Simple kundalani Yoga Centre at my Home.
    *So far 60 members had enrolled and benefitted by this.
    *Here Simple Exercises and meditation are taught as formulated by Vedathiri Maharishi.
    *As this Yoga not only beneficial for the health but also mind and life force energy, those who join enjoy the benefits and whole heartedly give their thanks not only for me but also to our beloved guru Maharishi.
    *I am very much happy and satisfied that I am living a life by providing service by the grace of almighty and our guru.
    *I made plenty of friends.

4. knbg

knbg Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

What have you accomplished this year........?

I just logged into IL today, with a plan to post a snippet on New year Resolutions....and I see this "Topic of the month"....:)

Here is my account of accomplishments.........

Year 2011 ...:coffee...upon reflection .........an eventful year for me indeed.....:thumbsup
    Thanks for this topic.....it served as an 'Annual stock-taking' for me.......to plan my resolutions for 2012.....

As a daughter......
    I became more understanding and supportive to my dad.....
    It is my turn now to support and care for my dear daddy...though miles away from my dear daddy, this year, I took a conscious effort to get my daddy to open up more and share his pent up worries and health concerns.....and I also made him cheerful by sharing more about his topics of interest which I could find from the net easily......
    I am a responsible, grown-up daughter now.....helping him find solutions to problems....cheering him with his grand-son's accomplishments...lending him a shoulder to lean on and get solace......

As a sister......
    I am this responsible elder sister now.......
    Looking for a bride to my younger brother with keen eye for every minute detail......It is the first responsibility on my agenda for 2012....with the blessings of the Almighty and elders, I would find the best match for my dear brother and see him married happily.....

As a wife......
    I have become more loving and caring to my dear hubby.....
    I approach issues with a level-head....
    I smile more often.....
    I have expanded the horizon of my culinary-skills.....
    Italian,Chinese,Baking,Traditional sweets........
    I smothered him with love.......
    I was supportive, when property- issues propped up in my in-laws place, giving him a different,neutral perspective to deal with it, without getting emotional or complaining........

As a mother......
    Learnt to listen more and make my dear son to listen to me too.....
    Made my son to be independent.....his day-to-day chores,his home work, his choices.....
    I enjoyed seeing him grow-up.....now he is in the 'ugly-duckling' phase.....
    Made him proud by volunteering.....

As a cousin......
    My hands were always there to help my cousins....my shoulders ready for them to lean on....my ears....ready to listen to them.....my head...to help them find solutions......my heart....to wish them and cheer them at their times of joy and bleed at their times of distress.....

As an old-student......
    I got most of my school friends connected.....tracked them with their addresses,alumni list,siblings etc etc.....now we have our group....we are now into giving back to our school.....which we left around 20 years ago...plans to give a face-lift to our school library......to give a fund to help deserving students....to organize programs on Yoga ( one of my friends is a Yoga guru now).....to give a coaching session on presentation skills..I am proud to be instrumental in this.....Hope to do something good to our school in 2012.....

As a mentor......
    Back in India I volunteered and coached students appearing for their board-exams and entrance exams......I still mentor them...they come to me...asking..."Aunty what elective to take?"....." Aunty, PG or work?"....."Aunty core or IT?"...."Aunty, doubt in Thermodynamics ".." Aunty,how about organizing a technical symposium in college?".....I helped them understand the importance of youth and the impact of decisions taken at youth on the life of an individual......They shared their crushes...infatuations......insecurities...and I was able to help them out......

As an individual......
    My yoga and meditation got more regular......
    I did pujas and chanted stothrams with total involvement........
    I improved my skill in home-finance management...
    I stopped being an impulsive shopper.....
    I understood my PMS symptoms and now ready to cope with it...without losing my control....
    I joined IL...:2thumbsup:.... I got many friends with positive energy and perspective.....and refurbished my writing skills in english and tamil....
    I started crocheting......

I became happier,cool, content,cheerful,more positive this year.....:queen

My advanced wishes to all our ILs for a Very Happy,Fruitful New Year 2012....
    :cheers
    May all our dreams come true......Bow

21 people like this.
  5. pooja912

pooja912 Silver IL'ite

Hey everyone,

This year has been really special for me because this is the year when I got married, after facing all the problems due to intercaste marriage.And now I can proudly say I am blessed to be with such a darling husband and caring in-laws. :)

It is really a task to manage and take god care of two families (parents and in-laws). I am glad I passed the test successfully by handling things properly.

I started my Craft website, which is my first step towards entrepreneurship...I have loads to do now, lots to achieve, but yes atleast I started it :)

I have definitely accomplished lot by being a good wife. daughter, daughter-in-law and sister..Will keep spreading positive energy and goodness and kindness around :)

6. kasula

kasula Senior IL'ite

Hi Every one,

I am very happy to this year because of that my dreams are coming true i.e. as my daughter got a job in campus placements. So after my long struggles (twelve years ) in my life finally iam success. because twelve yrs back my husband was expired in an accident from that time i am struggle with my life with my two baby girls in this world. So finally i successed . thanks to God.

Prasanna

13 people like this.
  7. sinisdevan

sinisdevan New IL'ite

Hi , I Joined IL Today :)

8. vandv

vandv Silver IL'ite

This year has brought many good changes in my life. Some of the important happenings for me this year was:

1. I learned how to be happy and make others happy :) . Here is how it works: Give,Give,Give your best to the world , Never expect anything back, expectation hurts. When you don't expect anything and everything comes as a surprise and surprises will usually make us happy.

2. Tried a lot of vegetarian recipies from internet and most of them came out very nice. Everyone at home now loves to hear I am going to try a new dish :thumbsup

3.Tried wax crayon coloring with the leftover crayons of my schoolgoing kids and made some paintings. Is planning to do more of it and go professional in arts :clap

4.Started taking classes online for US primary school students part time and has now a good extra income :clap

5. Started a habit of saving (which I never had) by keeping in mind the slogan "A rupee saved is equal to a rupee earned" whenever I get into tempation :biglaugh

6. From the month of October I was succesful in becoming a pure vegan (avoid eating of animal and animal products) and hope to continue through the rest of my life :thumbsup

7.And the best accomplishment over all these is becoming a good listener to my kids this year:kiss

8. I joined IL !!!!! :)

Last edited: Dec 6, 2011
  9. FreeSpirit20

FreeSpirit20 Platinum IL'ite

Hi IL, this is a nice thread here. 2011 started with my wedding after facing the hiccups of a love marriage. Then we had fun living together for 6 months, and the next best thing was he got his US visa, and had to travel. And I'm staying with my In-Laws now, which has helped us bond better. And also hopefully, I'll travel by this year end to join my husband there. :)

10. sbehl

sbehl Bronze IL'ite

Dear Prasanna,

Congress for your sucess after long struggel.

May god bless u & ur daughters too . My good wishes with u.

Take care , sonika