New dishes using LEFT OVERS

Discussion in 'Krishnaammas Kitchen' started by krishnaamma, Mar 28, 2007.

1. amruthakithu

amruthakithu Senior IL'ite

Hi Krishnamma...

This thread is very helpful for us...

Now i'm in need of an idea from you. I did poori as my morning breakfast..since i cannot store and cook poori's i made it as poori and kept it. So many poori's are left over now. Can you suggest me any idea from that. Would like to make use of it better wasting it. Unfortunately my DH left to office without having my yummy poori's.

Awaiting for your useful and yummy recipe.

Amrutha

2. spuppala

spuppala Gold IL'ite

Krishnamma ji..

Thanks for the excellent recipes wth the LEFT OVERs..Yes u r true..we should nt waste anything..when so many people are deprived of food around the world...Lets not waste anything..Be cautious..Pls dont waste food..
    :)

3. krishnaamma

krishnaamma Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

hi Amrutha,

poori itself yummy one :) is it not? you can keep some curry on each poori and roll them and you can serve them after heating it in a Micro wave oven. OR you can make sugar syrup and dip the poories. OR you can graind one hand full of Badam and graind it with milk. you put poories in that and serve "Badam Poories" ok ya?
    will this help you ?

4. amruthakithu

amruthakithu Senior IL'ite

Wowwwwwwwwwww......Thanks a lot krishnaamma.....Wonderful and excellent recipe...will definitely make it as a evening snack and will let you know the feedback.

One more query amma...

I would like to do mini puri's used for chaat items. For that i used or tried 1 cup of sooji , 1/4 cup of all purpose flour and salt as reqd...and i tried it...it was only 35% successful. But the cooking site suggest to keep the dough aside for 1 hr...Wont it drink oil if the poori or mini poori batter rests for 1 hr?

or else..

You guide me how to do that poori's amma...i'm just a learner in cooking not an expert. :)

Amrutha

5. krishnaamma

Hi Amrutha,

for chat items the puri must be somewhat flat. is it not? so before frying puries 'perk' them with fork and they wont 'puff' ok?
    for dough use bombay rava, maidha and wheat flour in equal ratio. by keeping the mixed dough for an hour will not drink much oil. ok ya? try by this ratio and you will see good results. all the best ma :)

6. krishnaamma

'chat pat chappati'

Ingredients:

Old Chapatti 5 - 6
    Grated carrot 1 cup
    Cut cucumber 1 cup
    Cut onion 1 cup
    Cut tomato 1 cup
    Pudina chutney 1/4 cup
    Dates chutney 1/4 cup
    Ghee 1/4 cup

To make pudina chutney:

One hand full pudina
    One hand full corinder
    Green chilly 1
    Cummin seeds 1/2 sp.
    Salt
    Lemon 1/2

1. Wash pudina and corinder.
    2. Add all the other items and grind them finely.
    3. Now pudina chutney is ready.
    4. Keep aside.

To make Dates chutney:

Dates 10 - 12
    Kis Mis 10 - 12 (Dried grapes)
    Jaggery 4 Tes spoons
    Red chilly powder 1/2 Tea spoon
    Garam masala powder 1/4 Tea spoon
    Tamarind - A small lemon size
    Salt to taste

1. Clean 'dates and kis mis'.
    2. Pour some water in a deep pan and put the dates and 'kis mis'.
    3. Bring it to a boil.Grind the as paste.
    4. Soak tamarind in a cup of water and take thick water from it.
    5. Add tamarind's water in the pan. Add grind paste also.
    6. Add red chilly powder, Powdered jaggery, garam masala and salt in it.
    7. Let is boil of 10 min.
    8. Remove it from the fire and keep aside.
    9. You can also keep it for a month.

How to make:

1. Put a thava in gas.
    2. Re heat the chappates one by one by pouring ghee.
    3. Make them crispy.
    4. Make them into small pieces.
    5. Take a big bowl.
    6. Put carrot, cucumber, onion and tomato pieces.
    7. Add chapate pieces and mix well.
    8. Now add the chutney in the mixer as per your taste.
    9. Mix well and serve.

7. banu1

banu1 Junior IL'ite

Re: Marie Biscuits into Cream Biscuts

hey each n every recepies r very suprb n its defintly very useful thnks n carry on...

8. krishnaamma

Re: Marie Biscuits into Cream Biscuts

Thanks Banu, I had a friend named Banu when I was studying 5th standard :) She was my best friend, after 10 -12 years I saw her again and after that till this date I could not able to find her :(

Any how, because of your name I remembered her again :) Thanks for that and also thanks for your comment :) try something and give me a feedback here.

9. krishnaamma

Laddus out of leftover Rotis.
    • Chapathi / Roti / Phulka – 4 (leftovers )
    • Brown sugar – 1/3rd cup
    • Almonds – 7 or 8
    • Cardamom powder – a pinch
    • Ghee / Nei – 2 tbsp (melted)
    • Milk – 2 tbsp
    Method:
    • Tear chappatis into small pieces.
    • Heat about 1 tbsp of ghee in a pan and add the torn pieces.
    • Fry them in low flame, taking care not to burn the pieces until they are toasted and crispy.
    • Leave them to cool down.
    • Transfer the cool pieces in a blender / food processor and shred them into coarse powder.
    • Transfer this to the pan again. Also chop or grind the almonds into small pieces.
    • Add the brown sugar, almond pieces and cardamom powder to the pan along with the powdered chapathi.
    • Heat it into low flame and keep mixing.
    • Add the remaining ghee and let everything come together.
    • Add a tablespoon of milk and try to form like laddu.
    • If the mixture is still crumbly, then add a little more milk and form ladoos.
    • Better to use these ladoos immediately or within a day.
    • Because we are adding milk in that.
    • or otherwise if you add only ghee to make ladoos, then you can keep them for a week.

shravs3 likes this.
  10. shravs3

shravs3 IL Hall of Fame