That Stupid Fairness Cream

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by chinni86, May 10, 2011.

1. bhuvnidhi

bhuvnidhi IL Hall of Fame

Shanthi, That link was so hilarious.:rotfl:rotfl

It is nice to see that people have started this long before.I hope the future will be people of different colors without inequality.

Kamala,yes we can start an awareness from here.But I hope it does not turn out to be white bashing thing.Then there will not be any difference between us and what was done by some vested interest people.I meant it should be a unbiased blog.

2. Kamala08

Kamala08 New IL'ite

Bhuvnidhi - I couldn't agree more! Yes...our approach should NOT be...as you put it - white bashing. Negativity just turns off the people in the long run. What we need as constructive fact based approach.

On my way to work this morning...I was thinking about the likes of Abdul Kalam. I am sure no one even pays attention to his skin color when they think about him. There are lot such examples that defy the notion put forth in the fairness cream ads - Your skin color is the only thing that is holding you back...and let us help you with that!!!!! Don't you agree?

3. Rakhii

Rakhii Moderator IL Hall of Fame

Arre yaar, aaj kal, tall, dark and beautiful is an in-thing!

To give due credit to the older generation, I would like to make a small observation. Most of the people who are obsessed with fairness were under colonial rule where it has been installed in their minds that being fair is being superior. This continued from one generation to another. However, I would like to point out that its not as bad as it was even 20 years ago. Now, most of the educated people do teach their children to have self respect and not to fall for thing like lighter-skin.

Now, the problem is with film industry as well. I am yet to see an actress who is dark and yet is considered a super star. Now, take people like Nandita Das...she is an excellent actresses. is she as successful as Kareena Kapoor or Deepika Padukone who are obsessed with zero size and are practically anorexic? Of course not...

So, in order to change the perception of older generation, it takes all of us to act together and say its ok to be dark and teach our children the same thing. Its OK to be dark and its OK to be white. Nothing wrong in being one thing or the other.

Having said that, I do not hold anything against people using fair and lovely. For most of them its just something like cleansing-toning-moisturizing mixed into one.

4. Vidyachem

Vidyachem New IL'ite

wow !!
    This PIG is cute :)

5. KolaMagal

KolaMagal New IL'ite

I feel whatever color we have, we are beautiful. But yes, we need to take a proper care of ourselves but that does not mean that we need to use those chemical creams. Our mother earth has given so many good products which helps us to maintain our beauty.

And one more thing, no one has the rights to ill treat others becos of their color. It is given by God for some reason. Accept that fact and live with it positively.:):thumbsup

6. gsathyan

gsathyan New IL'ite

Agree with the definition 'stupid' fairness cream. It now has taken over mens advertisement space too. I keep telling my husband :)-)jokingly, taking a dig at the advertisements), that he will get a better job if he uses the cream. In a way am glad- why should only women have the stigma of being dark. But am also dissapointed that instead of this whole cult going away, it has expanded. Also dissapointed with many Multinationals making a quick buck out of third world insecurities, they wouldn't have a market for these things in the western world. The ingredients in the creams have long term detrimenal effects. I feel the same about majority of the antiwrinkle creams too and those are also getting popular in India now.

7. khanolkarsoon

khanolkarsoon New IL'ite

Advertising is all about creating a problem, then selling you something to solve it. We can't trust corporations to sell us only things which are good for us--not when there's so much money to be made. However, if anyone cares enough to go on a concerted letter campaign, it's possible to get a corporation to change what they're selling if they believe it's in their best interest (read: their bottom line). Obviously this wouldn't work with F&L, but with other brands who haven't always been in this line, they might be persuaded that another, more wholesome product is where the real money is. Hope springs eternal...

As far as starting online campaigns goes, it's very easy and cheap to start a Facebook ad campaign. The added benefit is that Facebook spans borders, so an ad can be seen by people wherever they are, unlike a billboard or TV ad. Another idea: maybe calling in to radio or talk shows, MTV, etc. in India to complain about these unsafe products and the unjust standards they perpetuate. If enough people make noise, media outlets may decide the issue is worth covering.

It would be great fun to maybe take out some tongue-in-cheek matrimonial ads, talking about dark and lovely or handsome young people, especially if there were a website the ad could refer the curious to for more info (IT geniuses?). There's nothing like turning conventional wisdom on its head to get people talking.

One last thing: thanks to whomever posted the SRK ad--I commented, and was happy to note that many others had done the same. Now we just need someone to ask him how he would feel about his daughter thinking she needed to use toxic cream to feel beautiful. Who's in Mumbai? :biggrin2:

8. luckylady

luckylady New IL'ite

I agree with Spiderman1 and Jag.

Spiderman1 - you are right ........pigs are also cute (nice picture):rotfl

Self confidence comes from within and as it is rightly said, no body can make us feel inferior without our consent......:cheers

9. bhuvnidhi

bhuvnidhi IL Hall of Fame

I have another qn also to him.Why did he not paint himself "white" or use these products?And why did he not recommend this product to his very good friend Rajinikanth(who is a superstar despite his dark color).

Looks like East India Company has taken several forms(not only in these fairness creams).

I still remember one funny incident.I was probably in my 6th std that time.There was this mom who had 3 daughters who were of 16+.But this lady's hubby(actually the man was local politician) had left her for another lady and that lady happenned to be yellow/light brown in color.One fine day this mom had put some cream in her face to become fairer and she was complaining to her daughters that it does not disappear at all in the skin inspite of rubbing so much.Then the daughters realised that the mom had used toothpaste in her face.:biglaugh:rotfl:rotfl.So funny to think of it now too..

10. VINUS

VINUS New IL'ite

I agree with you.Use of fairness cream wouldnot give any good results .it's purely waste of money and time.Be happy with your natural color & cultivate postive attitude.Donot follow celebraties and their advise.